"Publish or Perish" - A ~Steemit~ Haiku

in #poetry7 years ago

“ Social media is an amazing tool, but it's really the face-to-face interaction that makes a long-term impact.”
– Felicia Day –


It's time, once again,

to express my frustration with our dearly beloved platform...

Table of Contents

Steemit is looking over my shoulder...
Image courtesy of Tim Gouw and http://pixabay.com



Publish or Perish

~A Haiku~
by Duncan Cary Palmer

Steemit is a bitch.
"Have you posted here lately?
Publish or perish!"


 




Table of Contents

Oh, the pressure...
Image courtesy of 2855492 and http://pixabay.com


~FIN~


For more haiku and other poems, please visit our Library Poetry Shelf - Just CLICK the shelf below.


Table of Contents


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr

Sort:  

Things seem to have settled down lately...I haven't had many issues this week.

Hello, @mwoodall,

Thanks for visiting and commenting!

Actually, I'm complaining about a "feature" of Steemit... The fact that nobody sees your article after the first five minutes or so...

Yup that is an annoying "feature" and I have yet to figure out a way around it!

I've been having a few conversations lately with others who are equally frustrated with some aspect of the platform -mostly it's about not being able to interact with others because of broadcast errors and not being able to post comments or vote up rewards. There are niggling little defects that beset us all and then there are major ones, like not being able to socially interact on a social media blogging platform. Let's not downplay the ugly truth - the site needs development badly. But it's like the Emperor's New Clothes, we all love the site but are afraid to be honest. I'm not. I'm damn frustrated but it doesn't end there. I don't want to vent - I want to make steeemit better than it's ever been before. How many others are willing to make that their priority?

I've had those frustrations as well, but my complaint is more that I sometimes feel so overlooked. I would like to increase my readership.

I have to say, John, that I've been delighted to see your star rising lately. I've been really glad to see your readership increasing and your rewards becoming regularly awesome. Keep up the great work, and may there be much more of the same! :D

thanks @creatr. Just keep turning out your usual content. The site reminds me of the Elizabethan concept of Fortune's Wheel. You may be cast up to the stars or down to the mud but regardless of what phase you're in, the big wheel keeps on turning :)

I guess that's my greatest hope for Steemit, namely, that it will be sufficiently successful to motivate the witnesses to maintain the blockchain far into the future. If that occurs, then my writing will continue to be available to my descendants and to whomever may find it of long term interest.

Oh how I feel your pain !!!

I think a lot of us do... Thanks, Troy!

Yep, I feel you, bro. What you describe seems to be an issue that affects minnows, dolphins and whales alike. Well, maybe not all whales, but still...

I find it difficult to write every day and sometimes every week. Other times, I find it difficult to hold myself back from posting several times in a day. In either case, you risk eventually alienating your user base.

How do you feel about reposting? In my personal opinion, I don't see anything wrong with it on this platform. Steemit is not a persistent platform, meaning it isn't really set up to reward great articles that are older than 7 days. It is also difficult to track down some of those older articles on here. You have somewhat solved that issue with your library, but you have no active avenue to put that content in front of new users...unless you repost.

I think this is ethical because a lot of people simply won't take the time to research a single writer's past work when they could review several people's work from their feed. Think about how many followers you had when you posted your very first article. How many of your current followers have seen that article? I love your work, and I can tell you that I haven't looked it up. In fact, even if I did, I would decline to waste an upvote on it simply because I know it wouldn't do you any good (unless I am misunderstanding that feature). Example: I finally got around to reading most of your Whispering Hope series, but won't upvote because it doesn't benefit you as I would like. What are your thoughts?

Hi again!

I really appreciate your very thoughtful and on-point comments here.

I have re-posted some of my work on occasion. Typically, I've done that when I have had some improvement, or in the case of some very popular articles that I feel are "above average." And I don't see any ethical problem with that, within reason. Of course, that's purely my opinion and the amount and reason for reposting are subjective value judgements.

I do feel that the greatest value in my older work is as an archive, and as "value added" and "advertising" for new readers who are just now becoming acquainted with my work.

I'm not exactly sure how the voting works on older articles. I have upvoted some old articles because I found them excellent, but have not checked to see if that reduces my voting power.

Sometimes I have read an old, excellent article, and then gone and given a 100% up vote to the author's most recent article as a way of rewarding the author for the older article...

I guess the bottom line is that the system "is what it is," and we all need to use it as we best see fit. I hope to continue posting as I am able, and hope to see the various system-wide problems eventually fixed and the value of Steem rise. Even if it doesn't rise as much or as fast as I would like, I still value the platform for it potential archival quality in the blockchain.

Thanks again for your thoughts on this! :D

Yeah, I saw your comment on the archival part of the equation, and I like that too. I have done the same thing upvoting recent as reward for older posts. I think it's a good action to take.

I think people abusing reposting would kind of sort itself out. If I see someone keep posting the same article again and again, their only going to get my upvote once.

lol. That's a perfect way of putting things...yeah...it's a shame articles die off so quickly. I wish there was a better system for keeping articles alive for longer than a few minutes before disappearing into the sea of posts.

Thanks, me too... ;)

I actually had it work long enough to post something without going through Busy.org. I like this better than face to face... I have one of those faces that's perfect for radio!

Hahahahaha! Radio! :D

Actually, I'm complaining about a "feature" of Steemit... The fact that nobody sees your article after the first five minutes or so...

Everything is getting buried in a sea of junk/spam posts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.83
ETH 2464.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43