Bucket (Original poem)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

image.png

Bucket

Life

Harvesting heaven
The key to all life on earth
Pulling it from the depths

Rhythm

Streets filled with beats
Drawn by the glorious cacophony
Instruments of change

Castles

Forming the earth
Into our image
Before the sea destroys it out of spite.

Waste

Collecting all our regrets
So we can place them out of sight
Nice and tidy

Death

Holding forgotten lists
Too many unfulfilled
Before it is kicked

=============================
@robyneggs was asking for themes for her weekly Poetry Dice 3000 contest. The conditions were that it had to be only one word. I always try to think of a random word to suggest thinking it would be kind of funny. Previously, I had suggested “potato” and “sock”. This time I suggested “bucket”. I know it’s probably not going to get picked, but thought I would challenge myself with it anyway. Of course I didn’t have the dice for image prompts, but I just went with what I was feeling.

If you think about it, buckets can (and have) save people’s lives. You need a bucket to retrieve water from wells, and maybe the skies. Have you ever seen street performers who turn plastic buckets into drum sets and fill the entire area with rhythm? We use buckets both concrete and abstract for all sorts of things. I have only mentioned a few here. What different perspectives do you pull from buckets? Please leave your comments below.

=============================
moeknows_red.png
=============================
thealliance2.png
=============================
BCPLogoMoeknows4 - small.PNG
Join the new Discord channel dedicated specifically to poetry
Block Chain Poets
Where poets support other poets.

Sort:  

I love how you always go above and beyond. I like that you started with life and ended with death. These are very valid uses for a bucket. Something we use a bucket for, is to cover our smaller fruit trees to protect them from winter precipitation.

Have a great day!

@foragingquietude that's a cool use for buckets. They are literally life savers in your example. I find inspiration in the challenge. Sometimes it works, other times, it doesn't, but in either case, I learn something from my self anyway. Thanks for reading and commenting.

Is "out of site" a typo, or is it a reference to construction sites?

I like each of the segments, and while they do not add up super well, they actually line up surprisingly well into one another.

As for buckets, there is the programmers' bucket, or pulling things from or placing them in an idealized buckets that contains idealized notions.

LOL, it was a misspelling, thanks. I'm glad they fit well with each other. The only ones I tried to fit together were the beginning and the end. I surmised that were many of other uses that could provide the middle. I like the idea of a programmer's bucket like with the concept of memory allocation. And yes, the idealized buckets are ones we all use whether we know it or not. Thanks for the great comment.

Nice and interesting poem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58309.71
ETH 2617.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42