POEMS I WROTE AS A KID #3: "PAINFUL YOUTH"

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

PAINFUL YOUTH

pexels-photo-386009.jpeg
Like a teardrop making a subtle and lonely
Stroll down the perforated skin of the cheek bone,
I walk down the bumpy streets of life.
Behind is an ancestry that wouldn’t accept me;
Ahead, a steep fall into an unfathomable abyss.
No one seems to comprehend this position:
They are either too young to understand,
Or too old to remember,
That there’s a time in life when things take on
New meanings, and the absurd seem obvious.

They say I’m joking with myself.
They say I’m dreaming precious years away.
But who would jeopardize something so dear
As the mild moon and the harsh sun
That add spice to an eloquent green nature?
Why can’t they strive to see beyond this leather
I put on, and crave for my dream harbor?
Maybe I’d just fall into the dark abyss,
Holding at heart the memories of my painful youth
To reminisce on, if I’d ever find a light.

Jesus Buck
21-10-2010

NOTE: I decided to start this series blogging my juvenile attempts at poetry. I mean I read these stuff eight years afterwards and am like, wow...where is that heart gone? 😊

Please read and appraise and upvote if you love it. I hope you enjoyed reading this part of the series.

Please read more in the series here.

Sort:  

This is beautiful. I love to rediscover who I've been through writing. I'll be following this series. :)

Thank you for reading. I checked out your blog and followed you. I love your writings 😊

@misterakpan
Nice Post!
Thanks for sharing this.

Welcome. Thank you for taking time to read 😊. It means a lot to me.

Be popular on steemit http://www.doze.io
Follow me and upvote

This is really well written. My brother write some poetry, but nothing as good as this, well done.

Wow. Thank you, dragon. I've not written a line of poem in in 5 years though. I hope going back to my childhood archives will spark something back. Thank you for the kind words 😊

I see you when you were coming into manhood. Age is no barrier but it is the mind and the thoughts of past and future. From all that I have read of your offerings so far I can tell now that you recognized that fall into an abyss, when head held high in purposefulness, was truly but a view of the vistas of opportunity that lay before you.

Keep them coming, I'll read them all! And feel what I can of a life I'll never live.

                                 ~love...laugh...live~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50