POEMS I WROTE AS A KID #2: "I WANT TO LEAVE HOME, DAD"

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

I decided to start this series blogging my juvenile attempts at poetry. I mean I read these stuff eight years afterwards and am like, wow...where is that heart gone? 😊

Please read and appraise and upvote if you love it. Today's part of the series is...

I WANT TO LEAVE HOME, DAD

pexels-photo-275493.jpeg

So my grades stop measuring my statue,
And my dream afro hair would come alive when due.
I want to be hungry like an orphan and like Les Brown,
And my zeal would be harnessed till I reach my crown.

I want to be hit real hard by life:
One, two, three, I’d count till five,
Then I’ll be so vexed that I’d strike back so hard.
Just pray for His mercy and for my luck, Dad.

A truck of broth is the least I need,
Just a vision, fire and The Word to heed.
Let the sun out there hit my head and brain.
Maybe like Lead, it needs heat for its peak to reign.

I want to see the monster outside the roof
That threatens to extinct the term, “foolproof.”
Let me see what scares you back in every night,
Making our many dreams merely blight.

June, 2010.

Poems I Wrote As A Kid #1

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49