Sunrise On Barren Words / An Original Poem By @mindhunter /

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

In heavens tonight

Hovers an earthly paradise

With many seas to cross

Many roads to bear

But with my horizon asunder

I don't worry anymore

Another sun will rise

To shine on alien stars.

@mindhunter

Sort:  

View is from the International Space Station.

I like the wistful, melancholy feeling this poem conjures up for me. And that view is great - sure would be awesome if commercial space travel becomes affordable within my lifetime. I'd buy a ticket in an instant if I had the means.

Wonder and melancholy are the 'feel imagery' here @cryptomancer - I'm glad you enjoyed it. The sense of awe in that image is WONDERFUL :)) I stared at it for ages!!

`Another sun will rise, to shine on alien stars.' Loved that line!

I'm not a great fan of my own poetry, but I'm always a fan of the last few lines! Thanks @linzo - we think alike :)

Great imagery of earthly melancholy @mindhunter

Sometimes life seems so short, yet so long at times. Almost a paradox!

I love this poem! I watched some videos taken from the ISS a couple weeks ago, and my view of our planet changed forever. I'm so aware now that, holy crap, we're on a spinning ball surrounded by vast emptiness! I don't think I'll ever look at the sky the same way again. Or the earth. With the sun shining on her like a spotlight, she is luminescent and beautiful beyond belief.

I'm so happy to find through this poem that I'm not alone in being profoundly affected by the view of our planet from space.

I'm glad the poem touched your heart @rebelmeow - it was the last 2 lines that touched me :) The poem has touched people in so many different ways.

...another day, another sunrise, sunset....like the tides our troubles come and go and there is hope.....and someone is watching over us....that's how I read your poem. I love the view from the space station - zoomed out so far from "me" - makes my problems feel so small.

I'm glad the poem touched you in 'your way' - I've had many views on this poem...all just add to the mystery of it for me :)

This poem snapped something into place for me. The earth is just as much a part of space as the rest of the universe. We are hovering in the heavens, though we don't, from our own perspective, tend to see it that way.

The 'But with my horizon asunder' line captures it all. With the horizon gone, we are forced to realise that different spatial perspective. Glad you enjoyed the poem and it touched you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64658.37
ETH 3421.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52