While waiting for my coffee

in #poetry6 years ago

20180409_084747.jpg

Tired eyes and weary body
Slumped in a tall no backed chair
Waiting on the edge
For some glorious hot, black goodness
Massive pot brewing for all
Drip drip drip
The time seems to trudge by
Until the moment where
Hand to hand
The cup is passed
And my day is able to begin


The morning after a night out can really suck. We all know because we've all been there. Not hungover, but not like normal. That in between stage that seems to be so common the older you get as a result of a couple drinks.

So, I showed up at my normal coffee shop looking for some life-giving coffee and with a sad face they told me they had to brew some. Well, not really a sad face, but, that image makes it a bit more dramatic. Only being half awake I jokingly said that I'd write a poem about it. They laughed, they dared me, so I did. Then they said at least a cup of coffee is useful (jokingly, of course) so I decided to post it :)

Hope y'all get a kick out of it!
Michael

BTW Weird Wave coffee shop is awesome. If you're ever in Boyle Heights, CA. Stop on by for a cup and say 'hi.'



[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 34.046720 lat -118.207083 long While waiting for my coffee d3scr)

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=mikesthoughts
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=while-waiting-for-my-coffee


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coffee might be more useful, but a good poem can be passed around again and again, and never empty :)

I remember trying coffee for the first time aged 15, spitting it out in disgust, and swearing off the stuff for life. How naive I was... here I am sitting in front of my second cup. I like this day-in-the-life style poetry, it feels very grounded.

Only your second cup? lol. I pretty much drink coffee all day, like a slow drip into my system. My 'office' is pretty much the shop since it's nicer than always working at home. The first time is always nasty, like beer, weed, and...trying to think of another example but can't, lol. Still hungover.

Thanks for dropping by and reading! :)

Haha, are you challenging me to a coffee-off right now? I think you'd win - too much and my head starts swimming. I had some great first times... coffee wasn't one of them ;)

Lol. Talking about sky diving?

Nah, when it coms to coffee it should be enjoyed in the proper amounts at the right time :)

Haha that's so much fun! I woke up today not feeling quite right...but I think it was because I got Chinese food wasted last night! If @freedompoint and I ever make our way to California in our travels, we will stop by!

If you haven't seen yet, this is today's prompt!

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

That would be awesome! Let me know if you're ever in the neighborhood :) Wow....Chinese food wasted...that's a pretty brave thing. Scarier than a night of cheap tequila if you ask me. Lol :)

Haha it was pretty scary! We will definitely hit you up if we make it that way!

Ah, coffee… Nothing like that first perfect cup in the morning! Here’s my own homage to that first perfect cup… https://steemit.com/poetry/@momzillanc/sweet-addiction-coffee-poem

Drinking a tasty cup right now :) Happy Tuesday!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58127.19
ETH 2452.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36