I'm not ugly

in #poetry6 years ago

image
image credits

Looking straight into the mirror
I see the imprint of the word "ugly"
That's what everyone says about me
The kids in school and teachers
Even the judges at the pagentry

Let me put this out to you
Maybe I'm not what you call pretty
Maybe I'm a bit fat and not that tall
Maybe I got short hair and brown lips
I'm not skinny and all you need

I don't have the pretty smile you require
The slim waist and broad hips
Or perfect hair and red lips
I know my thighs are quite full
And my brows are not well lined

I'm just 5'6 tall and weigh 56
None of the boys in school want me
And I can't be part of the popular girls
I can't be a model or be an usher
Maybe way too fat for pagentries too

I starve and workout every morning
I put on my hair extensions on
Wear my shiny red lipstick
I even check doctors for a surgery
But still I can't fit into your world of pretty

Even with this mini skirt on
Snap nudes for the media
I still get body shamed on instagram
And I cry and I scream out
Why do I even try to make them see?

Maybe you should look closer
I know I can be called beautiful
I know a part of me is quite attractive
Maybe the way I talk or walk
Maybe my heart is that pretty part

I'm not defined by the things you see
Judge me by the things I do
By who I really am
By the pureness of my heart
That is the real beauty I know

What would be your definition of beautiful?
If you saw hearts rather than faces?
Would it be sexy eyes and pointed a nose?
Or a good heart and kind soul?
That is how beautiful I am

We really don't need to try so hard
To prove beauty to a world so blind
Pretty faces fade but kind hearts remain
I don't want you to call me pretty or beautiful
Just want you to stop calling me ugly

this is for all the girls who have been made to feel ugly, for the girls who have lived in the cage of competing with TV models and believing that they are not beautiful if they don't look like them. For the girls who starve themselves to look slim and those who still never got accepted because of their looks.... I just want you to know you are beautiful just the way you are, the only thing that needs to be beautified is the way people see others

Sort:  

Congratulations @michellesamson! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I agree with you! It is so important that we realize that our beauty does not come from outside, from looks or appearance, but from the inside, who we are and what we do. Girls do have it tough, but even boys must realize this.

Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82