Ghost town

in #poetry6 years ago

image
image credits

I traveled through a dark tunnel
The horror as I opened my eye
I was floating on the earth
I was starring at my body
At the nurses who covered my face
The wailing of my friends and family

I screamed out of terror but no one heard
I tried to lie on my body but it rejected me
I tried to touch my mother's shoulder
But I felt like the air
Only then did I discover I was no longer there
The shock as I starred at my lifeless body
Slowly I felt myself floating away
Tear drops as I waved the world goodbye
I could never tell my best friend I was sorry
I could never tell my boy friend I loved him
Never again could I take my favourite food
If only I knew it would be today
Goodbye world I waved as I faded

Blown into a dark world
A world of skulls and no hope
Graves and skeletons and ashes
A world of silence and whispers
A place for ghosts and spirits alike
The old and young rested here
Even the great and mightiest of men
Gone into this big ghost town
These dead souls only sang of dirge_
Sorrowful and weary regretful souls

Spirits dying as they were being forgotten
Only memories of live loved ones preserved them
Unexposed intelligence and unused talents
They were all buried in this ghost town
Even the glooming moon gave no light
For this was a place for darkness
At every second more souls were added
Life was gone in the speed of light
But light disappeared with life
Death they say can never be understood
Till it lays it's hand on you or someone you love
It is just a black dressed man
Who never knocks on your door
But takes you to doom at his own time

Sort:  

at the end of the day all is vanity. a very gothic poem. sends chills down your spine. I love the simplicity of this poem, though it would have been nice if you played with your words a little. however the poem fluid and the message is clear. nice job.

Beautiful and eery! Thank you for sharing.

Upvoting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04