Drift: part 2 (an original poem)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

a60a39708a00cd765e09e86874532e84.jpg
Image source


Good day my fellow Steemonites! Here is the second part of the drift trilogy. If we recall from part 1, the dreamscape was a peaceful place meant to inspire awe. But now the scene begins to change to something much more foreboding due to fears based on inner demons and societal perceptions.


IMAG1137.jpg


Unable to make out what's being said
But vivid images begin to dance in my head
I see a burnt sky, I see the burnt land
I see a funeral pyre piled high with the dead


IMAG1138.jpg


Mushroom clouds of the darkest grey
Swallow the sky in a most menacing way
I'm left feeling nothing but dismay
At how fast my world began to crumble and decay


15166347012621029295048.jpg


So I put my boots on and run down the road
Chasing the distance to see where the destruction goes
How long will I sprint till I see another soul
Whether a man, a plant or an animal


15166347548101732032450.jpg


At this point it doesn't even matter
Any sign of life is better than this view of shattered
Hopes and dreams strewn about like the scattered
Rubble, double over overcome with a laughter


IMAG1149.jpg


Laugh it off I say to self
There's no way these emotions felt
Can be any good for my mental health
So i sit back and reflect on my personal wealth


IMAG1150.jpg


What will I have going forward
What will help me embrace this horror
I must run faster, heart racing like a blazing sword
Guiding me forever on, pushed with no relent towards


1516634881782856242310.jpg


What, i may never know
Predicting the future is impossible
Could be in 10 years, it could be tomorrow
One of my fears, how much time can we borrow


IMAG1146.jpg


When will the bill come due
A weariness washes over, I'm left subdued
My feet feel heavy, I can barely trudge through
This landscape melted to a premortial soup.


Stay tuned for the finale in the trilogy where the dreamer awakens to find themselves uncertain as to whether they have left their subconscious.

Thank you for taking the time to read the second part of this dream based piece. Please leave any feedback or constructive criticisms in the comment section.

Sort:  

The epic continues!!!! <3

Thank you for your effort great episode. We await the :P end. You have been included in the daily dose issue :) God Bless. Peace and Love.

Thank you so much for taking the time to read this piece and for the honor of being included in the daily dose! Did you get a chance to check out part 1?
https://steemit.com/poetry/@mic.mayhem/drift-part-1

You have been visited by the Steem Poets United Community Bot. Thank you for your participation in the community.
Your post has been Included into the Steemit Poets United: Daily Dose of Poetry and Prose #7 .
P.S.If you want to support our project upvote this comment, donate STEEM,SBD or Delegate Steem Power to me... It will be used to support all the members of this new community. Thanks.

Congratulations @mic.mayhem! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63955.40
ETH 3139.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87