Drift: part 1 (an original poem)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

a60a39708a00cd765e09e86874532e84.jpg
Image source


Hello Steemians! Here is the first segment of a three part series. Meant to be read as a story, this poem (in its entirety) takes place in a dream, within a dream, within a dream..sometimes its hard to tell the difference between the conscious, subconscious, or unconscious states of being. I also wanted to add pictures of the original written version to try and convey the often sporadic and messy thought process that went into this monstrosity.


IMAG1111.jpg


Shut my eyes and commence to drift
Let my awake state form with the subconscious
What was once a clear view converts to mist
My dreamscape shaped by my prerequisites


IMAG1112.jpg


First and foremost is the backdrop for the dream
Not the same but always similar the way i paint the scene
Lush and full of life, theres every shade of green
And flowers of every hue make the view serene


IMAG1113.jpg


Tree tops add character to horizons
Nothings more inspiring than the suns rising
The peace that comes when the rays stop hiding
Lays out a path i dub serenity's findings


IMAG1115.jpg


I take off my shoes to walk down the road
The grass carpet feels good on the soul
The dew clings softly to the bottom of my toes
Natures scents rise lightly to reach my nose


IMAG1116.jpg


I breath in deep and i breath in long
Peace comes out in a drawn out draw
The birds in the background hum a soft song
The tune makes a melody to shepard me along
IMAG1118.jpg


So i keep on moving down the path
Grateful for no cars, asphalt and no trash
I can focus on surroundings and make the peace last
Mosey on my way, neither slow nor fast


IMAG1121.jpg


But i move with purpose, to nowhere in particular
My heart keeps the beat to the time signature
As the wind whips by i hear a clear whisper
That seems to echo aloud in the crisp air..


Thank you for taking the time to peruse the first part of the drift series. I welcome any and all feedback, the more constructive the better!

Sort:  

a classic!!!!!

Figured I'd start with an old but gold piece. Thanks brother!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51