[POETRY] A Steemit Poem: A message for bellyaching newbies with original photo

in #poetry8 years ago

Here's a photograph and little poem for your enjoyment.

Sandhill cranes and their chicks by Meredith Loughran


I took this picture in March, 2015.

These are the Sandhill cranes and their chicks taken near the public boat launch at Lake Lindsey.

They mate for life and are very doting parents. From my observations, the chicks stay with the parents until they're about 6 to 8 months old before they fly off to find their own mate.

Why would I match this photo with the following poem? Because once you find your stride here on Steemit, there is a sense of familial camaraderie and nurturing until you grow up enough to really spread your wings.

Even chicks grow up to be majestic birds.



Kwitcherbitchin

There is on either side of me

Steemit friends turned family

They share their thoughts for all to see

From prose to art to anarchy

Forlorn the newbies often be

Complaining discontentedly

You have upvotes, why not me?

Their posts ignored - they feel envy

I tell you, friends - take it from me

The Steemit game's consistency

We all want cryptocurrency

But first build your community


Thanks for stopping by! If you like my content, kindly upvote and leave a comment.


Meredith Loughran sharing knowledge bombs, humor and life stories on Steemit

Meredith Loughran blogs at ScribblingBandits.com | Follow her on Twitter & SnapChat or LinkedIn


Come see what I've been writing! Visit my blog page

Sort:  

I love your attitude. Yes way too many whiners on here.

Hey Mere (i have a cousin named Meredith that goes by Mere), i love this! Adorable chicks. Going up to Nebraska to the Platte River to see these cranes is TTLY on my undone list. I'm a noob, just dipping my toes in the steem, with SO many ideas (many photographic) that my soul is driven to cultivate. I want to post, but HOW does one get their work seen? I have questions like, do i post lesser work before my best work, first building my community (like yr poem indicates)? Because I heard that posts can only make steem dollars for 12 hours.. SO i went under tools to steemit chat, to learn the strategies for posting and get my questions answered, esp re the 12 hr thing, and for 2 days i have been REJECTED, each time i try my login and password are said to be incorrect (incl this morn!). Clearly my password is not incorrect, since here I am! does this make me a whiny noob? haha. to want to know the best strategies? so far the most i've learned is from your poem! (thank you.) Feeling envy from someone having more steem dollars with posts viewed the same amount of times is very different from not having steem dollars simply because your post isn't even seen... being seen is the whole point, right, so how does that work, if i only have 12 hours? and how is it that my username and password don't work with steemit chat, so i'm not asking stupid questions of other steemers???

@cobbyworks, you have indeed arrived! WELCOME TO STEEMIT! Sorry about the delayed response. Hubby needed the "office" today.

Okay, let's get to your comment. :) You know that saying, "stick with what you know?" The best advice I could possible give you is to stick to what you love. If photography is your thing - DO IT. While you're looking around the platform, you are going to see SO MUCH creativity: photographs, recipes, news, videos, cartoons... Really, the sky is the limit. While I love the artistic compositions of many art and photograph pieces, too many submissions don't have a story behind them. I can't speak for anyone but myself, but I crave the story behind the vision through one's lens.

Being seen. LOL Well... The best thing I can tell you is learn how to optimize your posts. Are you at all familiar with SEO? I wrote a piece called Optimizing Your Steemit Posts - it's actually pretty relevant if you have a website or writing anywhere on the internet. One of the key things about Steemit is the whale bots. These are the automated arms of the whales and, from my understanding, they have developed algorithms to pick up on things like tags, headers, pictures... There is also a link to cheat sheet on how to use Markdown.

Best strategies: Portion out your steemit time to post your own work so people who do check out your username see you have content. Try to post regularly. You don't have to do it every day, but try to have a schedule. Take the rest of the time to find QUALITY posts. There is a lot of junk out there but if you begin engaging with active people, they will eventually check you out!

I wrote about my 30+ days here on Steemit. It's about as honest as I can get. Bottom line, BE YOURSELF. People connect with people. I know how crappy it is to feel invisible, but don't concentrate on that, okay?

Payouts: From my understanding, your first payout is now after 24 hours. Your post will continue to earn money for 30 days for the second payout. After that, your posts will still remain forever on the blockchain but earnings will cease. (This may be subject to change) but read the hardfork updates to see what the developers have been doing for the site.

As for steem chat... I don't know a thing about it because I don't spend any time there. My best guess is that you have to create a new username and password because it's a different forum. For branding purposes and familiarity, stick with your steemit username so people can easily find you. :)

thanks for these great answers, very positive! I see. I read your article on SEO but will need to read again, plus others. Yaaa - i can't wait to "get it together" and start posting, i'm just learning to embed, haha. thanks again, you nailed it, a place to be yourself, and get steemed, esp if you are worth that steem. it seems fair... steem - energy for motion and, like i heard a utuber guy say, a derivative of "esteem". both meanings work! thanks again for the valuable advice.

Love, LOVE LOVE your poem!

Well said Mrs, love your work :)

I love it! And I saw a crane today at the lake where I walk everyday. #sychronicity

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61098.19
ETH 2625.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63