Fire of Hope - original poem and photograph

in #poetry8 years ago

Fire of Hope by Meredith Loughran, poetry and photography


Fire of Hope

There is a fire that burns

Deep within the well of my soul

Burning embers feed the beast

While bright flames lick the sky

Glowing ambers of hope and need

For that which seems just beyond my grasp

Yet the fire burns

Consuming doubt and decimating fear

Leaving a trail ofsmoke in my wake

Alas, a new day springs forth

Nourished by the ash left behind.



I love watching fire burn. These photographs were taken when my husband and I were burning brush in the springtime.

I was playing around a little bit with Photoshop to merge the poem with the photograph.

Below are the two raw photos. No retouches.

Fire photograph by Meredith Loughran

Fire photograph by Meredith Loughran


Your comments, upvotes and shares are always appreciated. Thank you.

For older content, visit my Steemit blog page

Meredith Loughran is protected by Copyscape


Request your own verification badge @ Steem.chat


Wall of Steemit love:

Name in peppers by @papa-pepperBeautiful art by @poeticsnake
Name in silver by @neoxian8bit avatar by @williambanks

Follow Meredith Loughran on Twitter & SnapChat or LinkedIn


Sort:  

I don't know why this picture makes me laugh every time I see it.
Here's a song for you.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Awesome read... quite hot!

Thank you @modernbukowski
Have a wonderfully hot day :)

I like the feeling of this piece. It paints a pretty picture without the image.

Thanks, Irene!
I usually try to match a photo with a poem for one post. This time I decided to just screw around and merge them.

Mmmmm...should I come near this work???

I just left a comment on your post.
I'm not afraid of you @mindhunter! My hubby has big strong shoulders for me to cry on. wink :: wink

Merci for your most gracious comment on my poetic post. I shall spare thee a review this time, but I shall review any of your future poetry no problem. Drop me a line sometime ;-) P.S. The @mindhunter is also one hunk of a beast! Ha ha!

I love your humor!
Oh! Here's an idea for you... How about a bad poetry contest? That should make anyone's toes curl...and the worst one with the most votes gets a shoe... make that a Longfellow. Ba-dum-bum tishhhhh

There is no need for a contest - 99.9% of all Steemit poetry is just crap words fused to images. We'd need a whole Brantano shoe store for the awards ceremony! I think a Steemit Poetry Festival idea would be a better idea. At least we could setup poetry clinics for all!...and for the 0.01% of good poets - a jolly good knees up :-)

Great POST! Loved it!

I replied to you a while ago on my giveaway post that you are the winner btw :p So if you can shoot me your email I can contact you for your info and send you the drawing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.032
BTC 60972.25
ETH 2632.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57