MoPoetry Slam pt2. Listless prose/sorry bout yer luck

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)


Here is the second part of when I was the featured performer for the MoPoetry Slam a ways back!
Link to pt1 here:https://steemit.com/music/@mattie.b-leaver/mopoetry-slam-pt-1
Enjoy, upvote, resteem, follow for follow back, all that...

listless prose

A lethargic litany of listless prose,
Bending towards the monosyllabic, and so it goes.
Sure, you can rhyme sad with dad, and shows with hoes..
But can you spit sickass flows like...
I transpose, shifting octaves like a ventriloquist throws,
Making puppets speak in foreign tongues,
With words so heavy that they burn your lungs when you exhale.
Bending the shape of spacetime to conform to the gravity my rhyme,
And don't you ever mistake it.

Just like a plant is a crime,
The hypocrisy of plutocracy is lock step in line with criminalizing people just to turn a dime.
And if you can embrace discrimination based on race, then maybe Arizona is just the place... For you.
But I'll take my immigrants legal,
Just like my marijuana,
And I'll take my energy from anywhere except Syrianna
Get it from the tide, the wind, or the sun...
Our reliance on fossil fuel has got to be done,
Or like a tweaker who is fourteen days spun, and can't afford to pay the tab that he has run...
We'll wind up sucking dealer cock at the point of a gun.

And just so conservatives don't mistake me for hating (note: I wrote this in the middle of Obama's first term)
This government is far too inept to be celebrating.
As long as survival is secondary to profit, it's high time somebody stood up to stop it...

But changing the direction of this machine simply will not do...
Haven't you heard?
This machine here... It kills fascists too.

Oh yeah, if you're a poet in mo go here:
Http://www.MoPoetry.org

Sort:  

Followed and upvoted it! Quite a bit more positive in general than my piece, which is nice. Thanks for the comment!

This needs more attention. Resteemed. :)