You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dead Poem's Society, Week Two, Contest and Community Building

in #poetry6 years ago

Hi, @kilbride. From the picture your poem is loaded with both pop culture and religiosity. Reading this piece has been an inyeresting opinion for me; I'll tell you why:

  • The pic is an oxymoron. We need guidance = we ARE the guidance (fist). And is loaded both with divine devotion and human guts.

  • Idem for the text. "Wrong side - one more stitch - loaded gun" and "libertad" build their own extended oxymoron to produce a dialectic effect between violence and the sublime.

It reminds me of universal paradoxes like the Latin adage Si vis pacem, para bellum (If you want peace, prepare for war).

Thanks for sharing this here. I enjoyed it.

Sort:  

Thank you , I appreciate your thoughts. Although preparing for war is the worst part of being free. We aren't really free if we are dictated by constant struggle . Really bums me out to be honest :(

Indeed, @kilbride. Freedom is an illusion, a sweet one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65302.82
ETH 3492.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47