Mariah (In Memoriam Poetry)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

what I remember most are days
when the sun bled through thick drapes
and the sound of her laughing
the scent of marijauna and fine incense
a large unabridged dictionary on antique barrister cases
all the words flowing

and her laughter like honey sticks even now
long nights and loud music
ritual spiraling through victorian rooms
(body paint and LSD)
afternoons in the garden swinging in hammocks and drinking wine
road trips to nowhere in an old station wagon and a beret on her head
silence in tents and drums beating hard
hot summer days and large gatherings
(she always wore sarongs)
late night bonfires, flickering eyes and the ghost of Jung

Sacred silence.

searching behind closed doors,
lost loves and candles lit
witchcraft with a Brandy Alexander
on an eastlake table
summoning her soul back
squaring the circle only to watch it unravel
only to watch it unravel
only to watch it unravel

Jefferson Airplane and Uriah Heap echoing everywhere
a staircase like a tower and broken
fireplaces like dreams
and still her laughter
remains

Mariah

My YT channel:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCBk3MjXsRH6L9S3IRhASklw

Sort:  

The Hebrew (and original) version of the name "Mariah" is "Miriam", does it not sound similar to "Memoriam"? Hm.

I could point out the obvious, that this is not a piece that lingers sadly on what will not be, but instead celebrates what was. But you know it. And anyone who reads it can read it too.

Instead, I'll say this - you and Mariah were lucky (not in the "random chance" meaning, but in the "happy occasion" way) to be family for one another.

Oh, that is cool about the Hebrew version of the name and the focus of this piece.

Mariah was a powerhouse in my life and I am so grateful to have been cherished by her, as I, in turn cherish her.

Thank you. <3

I love this mamadini! What a beautiful tribute. I came direct to your blog because I seem to keep missing you in my feed, then I saw your resteem post. Your poetry is always cool. I love your writing style. Don’t ever stop.

:: blush :: Thank you, dear. It makes me feel special when you just come to my page. :)

I always do that with you too (and a select few), I always want to support those that I feel an affinity for here and you are like one of my first friends on here. <3

This was a well crafted poem. The imagery was so clear in my head. I liked the fact that you looked at your past happy memories. And you look at it as if it still gives you happiness. Keep writing. By the way, I write. You can check my blog and upvote if you like anything. Would really appreciate your support.

Thank you. All I have are happy memories, the harder stuff really does not hold space and was so small in comparison to the all the light, love, and learning she brought.

Thank you for stopping by. :)

If we look at life like that, we can actually live it. :)

I agree and we have the power to focus the energies on whatever aspects we choose.

Cheers to you. :)

beautiful and moving, i can see & hear her in your memories, and briefly from my own. You do so well and taking us to the spaces you hold. xo

Thank you, Ms Amy!. <3

Nice one Mamadini!:) Energy bless

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Niish (mamadini at steemit) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58589.32
ETH 2636.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45