Poetry Slam Challenge 8: A Pie in the Sky

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

Just for fun, I decided to submit an entry to @prufarchy's latest Poetry Slam Challenge. It was indeed challenging for me to work within this contest's structure - but doing stuff like this always helps my writing improve, so it tends to be worth the effort. Hope you enjoy the result!

A Pie in the Sky

If I ruled the world

I'd render many of the power games played here on Earth obsolete

and unceremoniously execute the hundreds of thousands of people whose actions made these games compulsory

by launching them into space, along with all the nastiest bits of our species' weapons systems.

If I ruled the world

There'd be plenty of food and fresh water,

banking and governance would be transparent,

and imprisonment would be replaced by entertaining, rehabilitative 'reality TV' programs.

If I ruled the world

You wouldn't be able to turn a profit by exploiting other people or ruining the future.

You wouldn't have to be anyone's servant just to make ends meet, either.

You wouldn't find "just doing your job" to be a valid excuse for doing the wrong thing,

Or have any excuse to meet life with less than your best

If I ruled the world.

(Picture at top taken with my phone in the back yard)
Sort:  

I would live in this world :) so glad to see an entry from you

Ha! Your example poem suggested our imaginary-boss-of-the-world objectives might be similar. And I'm thrilled to have finally made the time to participate in one of your contests: )

Nice work @mada! I've been contemplating a few poetry posts lately so I may take a chance on the same poetry challenge.

Cool - I look forward to seeing what you come up with.

Very nice!!! <3
Im running a new poetry dice challenge if you would like to enter it, too! SKILLZ!

Awesome. I just posted an entry to your challenge: )

A fine world indeed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61