A Poem and a Drawing: the latest products of my absentminded scribbling

in #poetry8 years ago

In a quiet moment, thoughts soften,

settling across unstructured time

like mist across a valley.

And when midday sun turns this mist to air,

or moonlight silently asks it to water the fields,

new creatures are born into thinking.

Half-hidden but always honest,

these newly formed creatures ghost across a mind's landscapes.

Do you speak their language yet?


Over-thinking things is a nasty habit. Whenever I'm thinking too much, I've found it helpful to stop doing whatever it is I'm doing and just scribble/write poetry/totally zone out for a couple of days. The above poem came out of spending yesterday doing pretty-much nothing. The drawing below, which has been cropped and digitally filtered to make it more look more interesting on a screen, also came out of this latest stretch of not bothering to do much of anything.



Usually, I just toss stuff like this in one of my giant stacks of unimportant papers and forget about it. But today, I decided to share it with you. Hope it provides some food for thought.

Sort:  

I think we all speak their language at some point or another. I love the idea of the mind as unstructured in time but also a landscape over which our thoughts exist as mist, birthing or killing our distractions and demons.

I'm a big fan of your writing and art, you should put less of it on the heap ;)

Thanks. But where would I put it if not on the heap? I guess I could start selling it by the pound as designer hamster bedding; )

On here so I can read it! Then afterwards, I'm not sure :)

That I can do ... maybe when deep winter comes, I'll spend a week transcribing one of these piles.

Funny timing, because I just wrote about how I've been overthinking so much lately. Thanks for the idea to get creative in order to give myself a rest.

The creativity and the resting mind operate in tandem. If you try to get creative, stilling the mind can be tricky, but if you still the mind without providing a method for catching the stuff that comes out of the relaxed state, fleeting inspirations are too easily lost.

I liked your article. Helps you like mine ♥ @siams

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61451.22
ETH 2929.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65