OLD FRIENDS…

in #poetry7 years ago

"There's no friends like the old friends." -- James Joyce

dave.jpg

Old Friends...

They've seen you ecstatic
or when you've been
shook to your core
held steadfast thru storms
their loyalty they swore

They know who you are
the mood you are in
by the look on your face
or that shit-eating grin

Coming from childhood
or that guy at the bar
become part of your life
that's just who they are

The bond that develops
strengthens with the years
witnessing the heartache
and all of the tears

It was always a given
they'd always be there
for times of great joy
and those moments of despair

Like a warm cup of tea
that soothes our souls
or the heat from a whisky
you can feel in your toes

Talking in shorthand
or not at all
their presence alone
would be all you could recall

There vanishing footsteps
from the earth we walk
leave us with our memories
and those times we would talk

The thing with old friends
is they can't be replaced
like a comfy old sweatshirt
their essence you embraced

And when they are gone
they'll be so greatly missed
that part of your past
no longer too exist.


I wrote this poem for a very good old friend who passed away this week… He was found dead alone in his apartment. I had not spoken to him for almost 10 years.., but always knew we were just as tight, as we were, back in the day…

Rest in peace, old friend… You will be greatly missed, but never forgotten. So long, Dave.

Sort:  

"No new friends"


Im sorry when I saw this post. I thought of this song.

Appreciate the sentiment...

What a nice piece... Keep up the work

MAY HIS SOUL REST IN PEACE

nice post. upvoted & following u. hope u will do the same.. @ika497

Thank you so much for your beautiful words. I can imagine it to be extremely hard to put these kinds of things to words. This has inspired me to look deeper into myself and really challenge myself when it comes to poetry <3

Thanks for the thoughtful comment... It is very much appreciated!

That's lovely, heartfelt and warm poem. You are very talented , well put together , sorry also for your loss!

Thanks @aineyann... I appreciate your kind words.

FRIENDS ARE THE BROTHERS YOU CHOOSE

I hear that!

So very sorry for your loss.

Thank you...

I was smiling through the poem and by the end, felt really sad because I realized it's up until the end of friendship where one has to go. And then with the backstory... I'm trying hard not to cry. I'm so sorry for your loss. This is a very beautiful tribute :')

That's a very thoughtful comment.., and lovely sentiment -- it is greatly appreciated!

I'm so very sorry for your loss... );

😄😇😄

@creatr

Appreciate it @creatr...

Friends made our journey here easier and friendship has to be treasured. A beautiful poem capturing the essence of friendship. I am sorry about the passing of your friend. Life here is temporary and I wrote about death in this poem. I hope you do not mind me pasting the link here.
https://steemit.com/poetry/@positivesteem/on-the-brink-of-death-a-wake-up-call-to-remind-ourselves-that-we-are-spiritual-beings-in-physical-bodies

Thanks for the comment.., it is very much appreciated. I'll be checking out that poem momentarily.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64202.90
ETH 3439.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59