Another New York...

in #poetry8 years ago

Another New York...


There once was a town --

with character and class...

A tip of the hat,

and flip of the bird


With style unmatched,

it's grit stood tall.

While it's skyscrapers,

dwarfed passerby's…


A city that never slept --

partied past four.

The sunrise was common,

from the night before…


It laughed and cried,

with it's people everyday.

For it new in it's heart,

it was why it was great.


The times long past,

it's traditions ran deep.

From San Genaro in Little Italy,

to communion uptown.


It's lack of green grass,

was supplied by Central Park. 

While it's ever-loving memory,

still lives in our heart.


From songs being written,

to all the friends that were made.

It's trials and tribulations,

were met with guts and glory.


A city full of souls,

that all felt it's pride.

From Harlem to Chelsea,

and up the westside.


Through the canyons of steel,

it's bricks side by side.

It rose to the heavens,

as the city it once was...


Though messy and unkept,

it always looked it's best.

From wild Friday nights, 

to Sundays solemn dress.


But I fear this town,

is lost for good,

and faded with the times.

For once this city, 

stood alone --

It's time to say goodbye...


Image Source: 1 


Sort:  

Not gone yet but I liked your post. No, it has a few hundred centuries still to lead

Thanks @jeff-kubitz... Cheers!

I knew that NY too! Nice poem @macksby

It was a different world @natureofbeing. And it's lost it's mojo :((

upvoted! awesome. i really love poetry. you could check mine and give me a critic :-) https://steemit.com/poetry/@annesaya/youth-s-dim-light-a-poem-original

Thanks @annesaya... I'll definitely check it out :))

What a beautiful bar in the picture! It reminds me of a place my wife and I hang out occasionally. This one left me feeling melancholy, @macksby. You’ve summed up my feelings about Chicago too. I feel our cities are become homogenous, full of franchised crap and in the process they’re losing their soul. Then sometimes I wonder if I'm becoming a curmudgeon. Lol. Nice one!

Very nice one, @macksby! You got a new follower now :-) Cheers Marly

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43