Too little too late.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry6 years ago

too little too late.jpeg

Whether it’s my wife or me, who breathes our last first
Whether in tears I look upon her sweet face
Or she places me in the earth
I wonder will it occur to me, “Too Little, Too Late”?

And when my children are all grown
And they set out in their life
When they have families of their own
Will I ever think I gave them, “Too Little, Too Late”?

Someday when my body can no longer bear
The burdens of God’s Service
When I’m confined to my chair
Will I stop to think my work was, “Too Little, Too Late”?

We only have so much time
God’s given us today
Why rush in selfish labors?
Why waste our friends away?

Would be better, so much better
To invest our every moment
In others who have given too
In us their most kind treasure

Our wife, our kids and our Lord
These are such precious gifts
Pour your life into them
Not, “Too Little, Too Late.”

Marvin McKenzie 10-19-18

Sort:  

A very precious poem, that is the things that have eternity value, our spouse, kids and of course the Lord!

I wrote this poem in response to a sermon I heard preached by an elderly preacher named Donald Hodge. It is one you would appreciate because of your heart to help people make more of their marriages. You can hear it for yourself at http://www.biblebaptistfairbanks.com/content.cfm?id=213&download_id=2667. Note that there is almost an hour of service BEFORE his message. If you don't want to wade through all of that just skip to the message by Dr Donald Hodge. It is well worth hearing.

Congratulations @mackmck! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1000 comments. Your next target is to reach 1500 comments.
You got more than 600 replies. Your next target is to reach 700 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 68636.49
ETH 3719.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75