You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Adieu ... but not forgotten" (poem & artile) >>> Thanking The Teachers That Change Our Children's Lives

in #poetry6 years ago

This is so great! I remember when you and I first "met", we spoke about this kind of thing. As a high school teacher myself, one of my all time favorite gifts from a student was her own worn and well-read copy of Sylvia Plath's The Bell Jar where she wrote the most beautiful inscription to me inside the front cover. I cherish it much like your daughter's teachers do with your poems.

Sort:  

@lynncoyle1,

Hi Lynn, good to chat again.

For those who don't know, which I presume is everyone, Lynn and I first met in the comments section for this poetic toast to teachers:

https://steemit.com/poetry/@quillfire/behind-great-minds-poem-a-tribute-to-those-who-teach-our-children

As you can see in my reply to her comments, I gave her the advice I give to all teachers: Drink! :-)

Lynn ... I noticed, however, that you didn't comment or upvote on this next one. I was ... surprised. And so, as I recall, I took my own advice ... and drank. Teachers and parents - the dynamic works both ways.

https://steemit.com/poetry/@quillfire/remember-poem-a-tribute-to-a-teacher-100-days-of-poetry-day-3

I'm glad to see you're back on board. To be on the safe side, though, I'm going to crack open a bottle of Merlot right now ... and it's only 2:55 in the afternoon. Won't you join me?

Quill

haha now that I'm retired Quill, I do and will join you daily :)

I can't believe I missed that post too, but I did just go read it now and it was another lovely tribute! Thanks on behalf of all teachers for your support!!

And welcome to steemitbloggers; such a quality group!

@lynncoyle1,

All we needed was a pretext. :-)

steemitbloggers does seem to be a great group. High quality work and great support. And a literate lot to boot.

You know, I was going to write a poem as an Intro to the group ... but what rhymes with "bloggers" ... floggers, joggers, loggers and sloggers. That's not exactly poetry gold.

@jaynie's Rules ("...and you'd better follow them or I'll flay you alive") still ring loudly in my ears so, "floggers," was at least a contender. "Sloggers" seemed too depressingly true-to-life and "joggers and loggers" seemed beside any point I could think to make.

Still mulling it over.

Quill :-)

Yes, a literate lot! haha so true; no inside cringing when I'm reading a post 😅

I'd go with floggers! Good ol' @jaynie; she's a sweetheart but be sure and follow the damn rules😎 There are a lot of dog lovers in the group, so you could stretch it a bit and go with doggers haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42