Poetry: When In Doubt

in #poetry7 years ago

Recently I have had many talks with my parents about the direction my life is taking. I have gone from the guy expected to pursue his masters in a computer related field, to the guy who only talks about doing art; like going into cinema, writing, making music, graphic design and the likes. My mother has told me to pray against the spirit of confusion in my life chuckles.

Truth be told I am slightly confused, I have many things i want to do but how to go about it is not something i have completely figured out yet, and doubts have crept in about the validity of my dreams.

This poem was inspired by the doubts and confusion.


Have you ever been sure, like absolutely sure about what you want from life?

Have you ever had a plan that you believed in with no doubts in sight?

I am a man of many doubts, they have become to me like a badge

I’m never sure of anything; my gut points me in too many directions

So I seem lost and confused to those who don’t understand my intentions

It’s alright to be misunderstood, not everyone would get you

Just don’t seek their approval, because they’ll never let you

Be who you are under the mask, an impurity in the façade

It’s okay to be confused, when there’s too much to choose

Life doesn’t come with a guide, and there’s so much to decide.


Image courtesy of pixabay.com

Sort:  

You sure are right about there being so much to decide. I'm right there with you. Great poem and great post!

Thank you :)

Fantastic piece that says so much. I stay confused, but I'm working on a plan :)

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lordmok from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Run with your heart. There is only confusion because this world tries so desperately to make us into something we are not. You know exactly what you really want. Don't confuse it with needing or wanting the approval of the world around you. It's an illusion anyway.

I do understand what you mean but sometimes it's not an easy choice. At present I have to choose between running with my heart and not making money at all for a while, and going for the money. I'm trying to find a way to balance the two.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58270.16
ETH 2600.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39