Monday Morning (original poetry)

in #poetry6 years ago

I was up early this morning

It's wet out
But busy
Monday Morning
All those souls going somewhere
Already up and out and in the car
Or in the truck all night
Some of them just starting out
Others nearly there
Where do they go?
Somewhere to work
To do something for someone else
That results in a benefit to both parties
That's all
That's why they pulled themselves out of bed
An hour ago
All the routines
A cold shower
Talcum powder
A bite of toast
And then out to the car while it's still dark
Shivering for a moment but then wrapped
In a bubble of glass, metal and clean plastic
Lights on, radio on, dashboard illuminated
Clutch, reverse gear, ignition
Handbrake, a look over the shoulder and out into the road
Then up through the gears and into the world
Watching always for signs of light and life
A to-do list that's never done
Mind on the road ahead
Dreams dying in the rear windscreen
Keep going
Keep doing
Keep driving, driving
Onwards into the light.

Sort:  

Beautiful art!
I dig the poem.

I just woke up am think I’m ginna do some writing myself. Have a good one my friend!

"When's a good time to be writing?"

Now! :D

Greetings to the city that never sleeps...

Agreed
Inspiration comes at any time!

Would you like a spatula? For your bunghole?

Yes please
Haha what’s up cornholio!

Funny, that energy you can feel on a monday morning, the momentum slooowly starting up again after a few days off. Captured it all perfectly in this poem friend- thank you!

Thanks, sitting in my front room with first coffee of the day, it was what was real and present right then. So I wrote it down :)

i'm willing to bet thats why so many folks are enjoying it- an authentic moment, relayed.- they're hard to come by these days :)

Heyyy !! That’s nice !! But monday mornings are lazy. We poets can see the good side of everything. Never thought Monday morning can seem to be so jolly. Good work there :) I too am a poet. Have a look at my recent poetry if you feel like.

Keep posting :)

:) i'm just grateful that my Monday mornings are no different from any other morning.

Yeah. Steemit changes all mornings to sunday mornings :p Hahaha.

that is the nature of mondays,
we frolick to get to work,
a work that belongs to not us,
though beneficial to both parties

That is the rat race of life!

I know it, but they could all be steemin' if only they knew!

Hahaha 😂😂 Thats badass !!

Loved it! You captured the essence of Monday morning.

awesome writing. I just like it. I just upvote this & i also follow you. If you wish you can follow me & see my blog.

Nice - I look forward to July when I can finally 'give all the commuters the finger' while I leisurely munch my marmite on toast on the balcony.

Presently in work after a 5.35 up and I must say: it's just a little bit shit!

Anyway.. break over, back to it, have a nice day.

please, if you have enough hands, I'd like to see a selfie of you giving the finger while munching toast :) it will fly by.

I'll hodl myself to it. Watch this space come July.

@lloyddavis did you write this for me?
Two days ago, I started having the craziest thoughts- to quit writing on steemit- I just began so it would have been easier. My last post was really going to feed this idea.
Once, I told a friend: "if you can't write a novel, write a novella or a short story or a flash fiction or something. Keep writing. Thank you davis for picking up off the edge of the cliff. This means more than you know to me.
By the way, the simplicity of your poem is alluring. Fingers crossed for your next post...

heh! If it helps you keep writing, I'm happy :)

Thank you, thank you, thank you very much Davis. God bless you real Good!

Your imageries of touch are amazing it estols a certainly feeling that seems like a little imageries, I also like your descriptive abilities it's amazing, overall its a beautiful poem buddy

Thumbs up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60832.04
ETH 2902.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55