You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Secret // a poem by an African

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Young lips on age old ears implore secrets
Growing old they too hear trains' flaming roars

Great lines, really getting to the heart of the that journey from young to old. The young want to know life's secrets, and the old know better than to try and tell - they couldn't express it even if they wanted to!

I think this has a darker, secondary meaning too... the abuse of power that the old, in positions of authority, inflict on the young. A woeful state of affairs, for sure.

Sort:  

Thank you @lazarus-wist It is encouraging to know that darker message found its way through these quite forced lines. I'm not used to trying to stick to standard form, but I fear I have insufficient inspiration right now to write such free-verse as many others do. When I read your poetry, I feel liberated in many ways. Perhaps it's my darker inspirational force that needs boundaries - hence the form is rigid. We struggle onward!

I really appreciate your interpretations always. Have a great weekend. Incidentally, Siyakatala is/was a place of safety (title I first chose before my OCD edits) in Stellenbosch - an institution for wayward youth - meant as a place to divert youth away from criminal correctional facilities. It didn't work out that way. And probably not much has changed since I interviewed some boys there nearly 20 years ago. It is sad as you say.

Thanks for giving the story behind the title - I did google it beforehand and it came up with the translation 'we do care', which seems all too ironic now...

I admire you for testing yourself with stricter forms. It's a sure fire way to add to your poetic toolset, and something I should do a lot more of myself! Thanks for the kind words and well wishing, may your weekend be peaceful and enjoyable too :)

The world is filled with that kind of sad irony isn't it. Try this one on for size Esidimeni (place of dignity). Same country too, I am appaled to say. In truth, the actual place called Esidimeni was nt the culpret in that tragedy and as the tragedy wa unfolding in the media, I often felt how unfair it was that the entire tragedy was coined in that way - there was even an "Esidimeni Hearing". The actual crime was committed by those who were hell-bent on closing that place down, eeven though it provided a very dignified service under the limiting financial circumstances.

Go well, friend - or hamba kahle, as we would say.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58140.33
ETH 2348.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44