Poetry- Juvenilia- A Valentines Design- 2) It was as if ...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry8 years ago

When you find love, treasure it, live it fully- but perhaps, don't examine it too closely.  [2 minute read.]

Picture Credit: @kindle - mash up from public domain images.


It was as if

The moon was for us
A constant source of amusement

I would gaze at it
Through a large telescope
Hoping to discover
What kind of cheese it was made of.

She would stand beside me
Eyes wide, enraptured
Peeking out from behind her hands.
Delighted to find the moon still there.

Perhaps the moon grew tired
Of my indecent probing
Of the stones that she would throw
To test its bravery.

One night we found to our surprise
An empty sky.

It was as if the moon
Had never been there.


@kindle Copyright and Disclaimer.


Thanks for reading.  I'd love to hear your feedback and get to know- what poetry inspires you?

If you like this poem you might also like:

14 Poems. A Valentines Design

1) Revelation



Sort:  

I really, really like your poetry. Sorry I found it after it expired, following now.

Thanks @cathi-xx. I really appreciate that. I shall be posting some more soon- unfortunately my computer is on the blink .. but I'll be back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58404.34
ETH 2367.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45