You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bad poetry online and what we can do about it

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

I acknowledge some level of subjectivity, but I won't say it's totally subjective as some people say.

You're misunderstanding me. Quality is different than my taste (I just commented on your rap, for example). For example, even if you don't like the poem I linked, you can still appreciate that it's good and insightful and creative and took some brilliance and skill, can't you?

I, for example, have no problem acknowledging quality, even if I don't like it. I am happy to see stuff that isn't to my particular taste proliferate, as long as it is still of quality.

But I will still be quick to discount people's writing as not good if it simply isn't good. This doesn't make me anything but honest. That doesn't mean I don't think it has any value (why I brought up the therapeutic aspect of it), but just because it's valuable to the person, doesn't mean it's valuable art. I need to stand by that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58119.05
ETH 2357.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36