POEM: Whispers in the Wind

in #poetry6 years ago

I was rooting through old files and found this gem of a poem. Brought it out, dusted it off, edited a few words, and voilà! I have something that sets a mood and makes me think. I like it.

As usual, nature makes her way into my musings. My last poem was about fire, I guess this one is air and sky. Wonder what I’ll do with water and earth…

I know I’ve been MIA on the music scene for a few weeks, putting out lyrics and promising songs, but I’m close. I’ve got my new mic hooked up and I’m hoping to record when the house is calm enough (when the kids are asleep). For now, I offer you this poem.


stars
Photo: Denis Degioanni via Unsplash


Whispers in the Wind


Wind take my wish away
To the place where wishes go
To be born into reality.

Storm lift my dream above
To the star where dreams are kept
To find me later when I’m falling.

Searching, still looking
For that ultimate thing.
Dodging fear,
Why does it well from within?
Traces of trust fall
Quiet to the ground,
Guarded, more and more
Each time around.

I guess it’s completion,
In a word maybe freedom,
If it’s the feeling I’m seeking to name.
Perhaps it’s the whisper,
More so than devotion,
Passion that leaves nothing the same.
It could be the spinning and
Touch that surrounds me,
The taste of sublime when I become weak…

Slower now - it’s the fast
Sometimes that’s the hardest
Breathe. Strong will
Makes dreams go the farthest.
Hold your head high
As you pass o’er the miles
Keep on singing
Shine your butterfly smiles.

I guess it’s completion,
In a word maybe freedom,
If it’s the feeling I’m seeking to name.
Perhaps it’s the goodness
Of daydreams and sweet things,
Like laughter and play and games.

It could be the flavor of
Colors surrounding my
Mind every time my eyes close.
It could this stubborn soul
Clinging to romantic ideas,
That somewhere somebody knows…

Where the wind will take my wish away
To the place where wishes go
To be born into reality.

And the storm will lift my dream above
To the star where dreams are kept
To find me later when I’m falling.

Original writing by Katrina Ariel.

line

I don’t even remember when I originally wrote this, it’s that old. The document says 2001, but it was probably handwritten in a notebook before then.

What I love so much about poetry is how it helps me process, how it helps me grow as a human, and how years later the words still move me.

Thanks for reading!

Whatever happens, keep singing your song!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel
Photos mine unless otherwise credited.


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steem.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


alliance banner

Sort:  

Dang, where did that come from and again...I can totally hear a song in my head or you singing this. Very smooth flow in my brain.

Posted using Partiko Android

Most of my poems turn into songs, don't they? Glad you like it. It came from way in my past. lol!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Lovely as always. How cool you found a poem from way back when to share with us!

Thank you for reading! Yes, sometimes the old ones are good ones, too... sometimes they just make me cringe. Oh the angst and melodrama of my teens. lol!

OH MY GOD, yeah, I just burnt all of those!!!

I can totally relate -- I've been going through old boxes, and have been coming across prose and poems I wrote years ago, and had forgotten about completely.

Interesting, poignant at times, and as you say, the words still move, even after all this time. I wrote a post a couple of weeks ago about one of them that was particularly vulnerable, but in the end, healing.

What doesn't kill us makes us stronger, yes? Even when it may not seem so at the time.

Lovely poem, which I've resteemed. ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

What doesn't kill us makes us stronger, yes? Even when it may not seem so at the time.

YES! So true. Thank you for the lovely comment and the resteem. ((hugs))

Hmmm...sweet, dreamy, soulful. Easy on the eyes, soothing. Your cadence with words adds value to the poem's intent...
One of my MANY future topics / posts will be on the night sky; my Energy magnet. The photo in your post gets a cavernous "wow." And as I was just visiting a friend in NM, I stood beneath The Milky Way in silent, shuddering awe.

Peace and smiles...

silent, shuddering awe.

I love it when nature brings that reaction. So good. Thanks for the kind comment!

Beautiful song, very dreamy. I loved it 💖💖😍😍

Thank you, sweet friend. :)

Beautiful, beautiful poem. I love it. Ah, for our good wishes to be born into reality!!! :D

I look forward to hearing this set to music one day. ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thank you very much! I guess I need to work out some music for it. :)

Beautiful poem. And a musician too! I know finding time to be creative is hard while raising a family.

Posted using Partiko Android

I am always in awe of people like you who have the words to express their feelings in a beautiful poem. You are blessed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54554.44
ETH 2294.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31