POEM: Personal Power

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

powerful


Claim Your Power

line

You belong to yourself.
Not to him.
Not to them.

Stop listening for whispers.
Stop caring what thoughts might
Fly through someone else’s mind.

It’s none of your business
What they think.
What do you think?

What lives in your heart?
What dances in your mind?
What calls to your blood?

Shed the limitations that
Pull you back and
Freeze you with fear.

Sing the song that wells up
From the starlight
Of your soul.

Tread the path that delights,
And gives, and beckons,
And breathes freedom into
Every breath and dream.


Original writing by Katrina Ariel

line

I wrote this poem as a very late #freedomfriday entry, inspired by @riverflow’s AMAZING post on personal power.

I adore #freedomfriday! I haven’t gotten my timing right yet (sorry @eaglespirit), but it’s on my radar and in my thoughts. I love these topics!


guitar in tree


💞 Steemfest Dreaming


So... I really want to perform at Steemfest in Poland, because there are SO many people I want to meet there and give back with my music. And that dream could totally come true! Would you be willing to help me get there?

It only takes a quick moment:

>> If you have not yet nominated people for the @steemitblog Steemfest contest, I'd love to be considered as one of your votes.

And when you nominate people you can enter to win the wildcard draw for a free ride to Steemfest! In case you need suggestions for people to nominate, you might consider @snook, @zipporah, @enginewitty, @soyrosa, @yidneth, @rhondak, and @isaria!

💞 Just click here to read the short contest post, and copy/paste the bit at the end, filling in your own nominations while feeling warm and fuzzy, knowing YOU'RE AMAZING!

Thank you to everyone who has already nominated me, and to anyone who takes the time to read my posts. Your support is genuinely appreciated.

Take care of yourself, you are a gift!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel
Photos mine unless otherwise credited.


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steem.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


Steemsugars

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES

Witnesses keep the blockchain alive, and it costs nothing to vote for them, so please do so. @enginewitty, @jackmiller, @guiltyparties, @drakos, @gtg, @curie, @noblewitness, @steemgigs, @c0ff33a, @yabapmatt, @poetsunited, @followbtcnews, @steemcreative, @aggroed, @pfunk, @helpie — There are so many good ones. Do some research and cast your votes!

Thank you to ALL the witnesses who contribute to the stability and evolution of the Steem Blockchain! You are most appreciated.

alliance banner

Sort:  

I am not a poetry fan, barring AA Milne and Dr Seuss. I do like this one though.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Ah! Well, it must be good if you like it. ;) Thanks for the comment. 💞

Beautiful Poetry, and you up on that tree makes me feel so jealous. Such a wonderful connection :-)

Aw, thank you! That was many years ago, with the trees. Those Live Oaks are AMAZING! Love being around that energy. Sending some your way. ;)

Ya gonna read this. love love

It's almost too simple, but I'm glad you like it. Sometimes simple is good. 💞

I love your songs and I really really really love your photos when you are on trees 💚 You really look like you are at home and in your natural environment 💚

hugglepounces

Thank you! Yes, I am in my element when I'm with trees, and these Live Oaks especially. The top one is super old, and is called the Tree of Life by the locals. The bottom pic is a tree that is like a friend to me. 💞

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Beautiful poetry :)

Thank you, my friend. 💞

What a gorgeous poem. So to the point and meaningful.

Thank you for it!

So glad it spoke to you, I was mostly writing it to get my own head on straight again. ;) 💞

Plain and simple. I like it.

Thank you! Sometimes straightforward is a worthwhile approach. ;)

Love this, love your power shining thru, you are a Goddess and that Tree wow, I really want to come sit in that tree and jam with you xxxx

YES!!! Meet me in New Orleans sometime. That's where those pictures are from. Fantastic place, I'd love to jam with you there. :) And thank you so much for the sweetness.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by katrina-ariel from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86