POEM: Freedom in Flight

in #poetry6 years ago

This post and poem were inspired by two women from different sides of the planet who make my heart glow, @zen-art and @eaglespirit.

Both of these inspiring ladies are giving away SBI shares this week in contests that I’m weaving together into a single piece of writing.

In her latest #freedomfriday post, @eaglespirit invites us to ponder the question: “What does freedom mean to me?”

@zen-art also came out with a poetry contest designed to invoke feeling and joy. “Move me,” she says. Well, I hope this does the trick.

looking up

line

POEM: Freedom in Flight


The pendulum swings
With creak and chime
I seek the peak
This flight is mine

Higher than the chains
Above the bar
Reaching for treetops
Soul soaring far

I dream one day
I’ll let go and keep flying
But now I hold on
Giggling and sighing

Fearless, I look back
Upside down with a grin
Laid out, body strong
Spirit alive within

Liberated from it all
For that magical time
When I swing in the sky
Freedom is mine

Original writing by Katrina Ariel

line

swing
photo: Toshi Kawano


This is an old picture of me swinging, but I still get on a swing set frequently. I was on one yesterday, letting my imagination soar.

I hope you don’t mind me combining my entry, @zen-art and @eaglespirit. I love both of your contests. Instead of something deep and dark, as my poetry sometimes goes, you inspired me to create something that makes me grin just thinking of it.

Swinging keeps the child in my heart young, and reminds me that I don’t have to have wings to fly. It also reminds me that freedom can be found in the simple things, like going to a playground.

Thanks so much for reading!

Whatever happens, keep singing your song!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel
Photos mine unless otherwise credited.


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steemit.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


Steemsugars

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES

Witnesses keep the blockchain alive, and it costs nothing to vote for them, so please do so. @enginewitty, @jackmiller, @drakos, @guiltyparties, @gtg, @steemgigs, @curie, @lukestokes.mhth, @pfunk, @c0ff33a, @sapphic, @followbtcnews, @swelker101, @yabapmatt, @noblewitness — There are so many good ones. Do some research and cast your votes!

alliance banner

Sort:  

just YOU and beautiful!!!!

thank you for sharing part of you with all of us!

Thank you for seeing the beauty in me. 💖

I dream one day
I’ll let go and keep flying
But now I hold on
Giggling and sighing

This stanza really struck me deeply. It reminded me of those vivid flying dreams and then to awake to being tethered to this mundane world. Beautiful work my friend!

Thank you! For me it's the waking dreams that are the most vivid, and my flying imagination as real as the body that grips the chains and swings as high as I possibly can. ;)

Loved the poem, Kat. Keep swinging my friend.

Always. Swing sets are the best, especially really big ones. ;) Thank you!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Really beautiful poem sweet Katarina and it touches deep ❤️
Love your pictures to and make it magical.
Loved it. Great idea to combine the two contests from @zen-art and @eaglespirit they are amazing ladies and inspiering.
Much Love sister ❤️🤗❤️🌼🌻💐

Thank you, sweet Sass! So glad you enjoyed it!

woohooo i love this and yay freedommmm!! the photos are awesome and i just feel it ... i love swings too and the exact same sentiments fill me. thank you for sharing a beautiful expression of freedom in poetry. xo

Ah! You love swings too? One day, my friend. When I come down to CO or you come up to BC, we need to find a playground together. Thank you for the kind words. So glad you like the poem and pictures! :)

@katrina-ariel yesss and we doo we dooo ... tho i have to lose some weight to get my booty in it ... ahahaha

omg i'd just love BC i knowww ittttt

love it to pieces .... thank you for sharing really

teleports to Colorado for @eaglespirit hugs

💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖

hahaha you crackkk me upppp with your italics , i die laughing every time 😂😂😂😂😂 those boys must just love being around you 🙌🏽🙌🏽🙌🏽

I feel your words right down to my soul, my soul. Your writing is always so deep and meaningful.

Thank you.

Aw, thank you! So sweet that you can feel it—that means I did a good thing putting those words together. ;) And a high compliment from one poet to another. Most appreciated!

Beautiful words :) Maybe someday you'll find a permanent swing. Until then, keep giggling and sighing!

giggles
sighs
giggles
sighs

Thank you for the lovely comment. :)

Team Good Alpaca loves this post! Nomnomnomnom!
teamgoodbanner2.png
Delegate to our project via SteemConnect:
10 SP | 20 SP | 50 SP | 100 SP | 200 SP | 500 SP | 1000 SP | 5000 SP

Thank you for the entry honey. It is amazing which is not much of surprise since everything that comes out of your lovely mind is amazing. Even the photos are right on the spot for my contest, keep them and remember them, you will need them in the future :D This was amazing to read over my morning coffee 💚

Thank you so much! Yay! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed it. Hope I can join you for a morning coffee sometime. ;) 💖

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58659.71
ETH 3164.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43