Where Does All the Time Go? | NaPoWriMo Day 4

in #poetry6 years ago



I'm excited that after three days of making time to write, I'm already waking up to the question of, "What can I write today?" So here's my original poem for Day 4 of Poetry Writing Month:

Where Does all the Time Go?

Where does all the time go?

Does it take off with missing hair
pins and every second sock in-
to a hidden treasure trove
of all things lost?

Does it get swallowed up between
sentences and yawns during our
lunch-time (tick) talks?

Or does it hide in minute mouse
holes, or melt with Dali's clocks?

I tried to keep a watch on it,
but I just blinked and it had flown
around the world and back, cleaning
out my daylight savings bank.

I was about to give up on
it being my second hand be-
fore I found it in the last place
I thought I would, (and just in time
at that!)

It was crawling out of a grand-
father clock and in to the lap
of an old dame on her rocking chair
taking her long afternoon nap.

__________________________

About the Poem

I was complaining to a friend (or more) recently about how there just doesn't seem to be enough time in the day, that no matter how much I plan (even when I actually follow the plan), or how productive I am in the day, I always seem to be ending up a few hours short (and this is my break year, so to speak!)
So I thought I'd have a little fun with this otherwise unfavourable situation and follow time on its escapades through poetry.

Process and Form

I wanted to do something with this idea of time hiding or disappearing even in plain sight, so most stanzas have (not-so-) hidden time related words in them. I won't ruin it and tell you where all of them are – you can enjoy a literal word-play game of hide-and-seek, but some are more obvious like second (unit of time/ other or two of) or minute (unit of time/ small) and some are hidden in the sound quality of words like our and hour.

Usually, I'm a big advocate of free verse or non-structured poetry in my own writing, mainly because I feel like it ends up sounding forced when I try to rhyme or fit words into some other structure. But since this is a poem about time, I thought it would be interesting to use a meter. I'm not at the level of iambs or trochees yet, but I thought I'd make a start with a simple eight syllable count per line. Much to my initial dismay, some lines just would not cooperate. But as I continued writing, I realised it was kind of perfect and poetic that these lines were falling short of syllables much like I am falling short of time.
The first line itself, Where does all the time go has six syllables, 2 short of what it needs, indicating that time has already gone somewhere. It is only in the last stanza, when time is found, that every line has 8 syllables, and time finally falls into the lap of the poem structure as it falls into the lap of the old lady.

I hope you enjoy reading this as much as I enjoyed writing it. I'd also love to hear your stories of disappearing Time.

(Image: The Persistence of Memory by Salvador Dali)

____________________________

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Try Our Service Before Buy🎁

  • Exclusive 30 days free upvotes to your every new post.
  • Limited Time Offer
  • No need to send any kinds of steem or sbd its full free service.
    we have paid service too so please check them too. Active the free upvote service and learn more about it here : JOIN NOW CLICK HERE

Karu, I'm going to comment on every poem simply because generally, I don't get poetry. I mean, I love my sister's poems, some of Vikram Seth's and a handful of others'. But for the most bit, I find that I can't read them. They don't hold my attention. They're too abstract or too...romantic.

Your poems make me want to take time to read every word, repeat the verses in my head and reconstruct the imagery you bring to life. Can we do some art to your poetry when I come back?

This is wonderful. I often think about time. I feel like I waste a lot of my time and yet I don't have enough time to do the things I want to.

This verse is my favourite

I tried to keep a watch on it,
but I just blinked and it had flown
around the world and back, cleaning
out my daylight savings bank.

Manu, this comment made my life.
Thanks for taking the time to reply to each one. It means the world. Honestly, before I started writing poetry I felt like I didn't get it either. It felt too structured, too... demanding, even as a reader, to deconstruct its meaning. And it took a while to realise poetic needn't equal romantic.
But once I started reading more and writing more and just engaging with it more, even outside of literature classes, I often find myself in awe of how much life it bring to things. And now, like any art, it feels like a lens to view the world.

Of course we can do art to my poetry! I'd be beyond honoured. I have an interesting idea for this one too, but don't have the artistic skills to execute it.

Can't wait for you to come back so we can spend and waste time together and wonder where it went, haha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58088.10
ETH 2353.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44