Sort:  

Thank you but not really. I'm prepping to go to art school in the fall. ^_^

Oh nice. What kind of art? Or more specifically, what is the end goal of taking the classes?

I'll be getting a 4 year degree in fine arts so the end goal is to be a professional artist. ^_^ The school is pretty interdisciplinary so I'll probably take a mixture of painting, sculpture, photography, and book arts as I like.

That sounds like fun.

The part I'm concerned about is that most (traditional) artists are starving artists and their work is never recognized until after they die.

You could mitigate that by becoming an art teacher or by focusing your skills in digital art where you could use your skills for advertising, movie industry CGI or the gaming industry. I'm sure there are other possibilities but I think those are the biggies.

Enjoy, and good luck in whatever route you choose.

The internet has created a lot more opportunities for artists through social media, print-on-demand, games, licensing, etc. I feel like I'm going to spend the next 4 years working on building an audience so that I have a foundation for when I need to strike out on my own. With a substantial audience, I feel like my options are a lot better.

Yes, that seems logical.
@pbock has already sold several of his art-works on-line. If you work the angles correctly, you could do very well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.86
ETH 3531.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53