desert - a poem 🏜 steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry5 years ago

forgiveness does not mean
I will become soft for you again
forgiveness cannot fill
the cracks in my skin

-*-

So this poem was written about trying to find the balance between letting things go and also not getting stuck in repetitive behaviors. I used to think that forgiveness wiped the slate clean and I think it can for some people. But I also think it makes sense if you want to be more reserved with someone after they've hurt you. Not to punish them, but to honor your own feelings. I think sometimes we want to forgive people before we've actually worked through the hurt because we think it will be easier. So I hope for myself to always be honest with myself, even if what I find isn't always the most comfortable.

How about you? Do you forgive easily?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Hello @justatouchfey

i found you through @paulag's Redfish Power UP League.

forgiveness is something you have to give but not give it plenty because it is losing it value.
all people deserve a second chance but if they do it again then i erase them from my list

That's very fair, dragonblades. There's so many lovely people in the world so it makes sense to let people go their own way when they're not a match to how you want to be treated.

I forgive easily but I do not forget, and some of my friends told me that that was tantamount to NOT forgiving??

Hahahah.... oh well.

I like the poem, Ciel, I think it resonates well with how I think about forgiveness too :)

Thank you!

Sounds like we are a bit similar in how we think about it :). I think not forgiving feels like hanging on to the feeling of anger, and when I release it and am more neutral, I've forgiven. But I think that it's a separate thing to get to a point of re-trusting and often the thing that happened changed my understanding of a person. It's not set in stone, but I don't think it makes sense to pretend something didn't happen.

You are on the right track with you thinking. I see forgiveness as a gift to myself. It will never wipe a slate clean, the fact that you forgive someone doesn't mean you approve of what they did. Once they have hurt you even if you do forgive them it does mean the same level of trust and friendship will remain.

Posted using Partiko Android

I definitely agree. I think forgiveness can release us, but we'll have still changed from the experience and maybe become a bit wiser about that person.

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 99.93% upvote from us for your 24696 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81