Liberty Needs Glasses

in #poetry6 years ago

This is a great poem by Tupac Shakur and it is titled Liberty Needs Glasses.

Many would argue the fact that rappers and singers are poets in their own form. A poet is someone who intensely express their ideas and feelings in their own unique style and rhythm.

Even though these poems I have been posting lately from the great Tupac Shakur are old, his words still affect many today and still have a huge impact because things have not changed.

People are still facing the same problems and are still being mistreated. He was considered one of the greats because he spoke to the people and for the people. We have seen and read many cases where justice was not served and the people were furious over the outcome. Whether it be political or criminal the struggles are still in the air.

This poem still speaks loudly on today's issues and what seems like the issues that will be conflicting those in certain areas of the world.

I hope you all enjoy the read.

Liberty Needs Glasses

excuse me but lady liberty needs glasses
and so does mrs justice by her side
both the broads r blind as bats
stumbling thru the system
justice bumbed into mutulu and
trippin on geronimo pratt
but stepped right over oliver
and his crooked partner ronnie
justice stubbed her big toe on mandela
and liberty was misquoted by the indians
slavery was a learning phase
forgotten with out a verdict
while justice is on a rampage
4 endangered surviving black males
i mean really if anyone really valued life
and cared about the masses
theyd take em both 2 pen optical
and get 2 pair of glasses

https://www.poetrysoup.com/famous/poem/liberty_needs_glasses_21341

Sort:  

ohhh yeah, 2PAC the Black Panther power. Fantastic post @joseph. not many remember the great tupac. kind regards bro

I really like your cool words. They are polished refind diamonds. How can we appreciate great soul, greater than your precious jems.It feels like you have collected pearl from deep end of the sea and decorated nicely@upvoted and resteemed.@joseph Do you have any idea about international mother language day?If you don't know then visit my blog or click this link https://steemit.com/blog/@rupok/international-mother-language-day

i lovee that.....

history is always written by the champion

I like to write poetry @joseph poetry for me is the body language of heart expression through feelings that want to be uttered. your poem is very touching, I want to write poetry like this, but I need guidance, because I am just an ordinary writer.
Thanks @joseph
I often write poetry on my blog. If you do not mind you can visit my blog and hopefully you can give input for my writing fore better.
I really hope from your input @joseph

Tupac was the man for sure..

Nostalgia once again, keep up the good work

History is a cyclic poem written by time upon the memories of man.

Oh yeah, go pac

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94