A Classic Poem By William Ernest Henley

in #poetry6 years ago

I had to read this poem multiple times to let the dark in it sink in and place myself in the writers shoes.

William Ernest Henley, was a magnificent poet and mastermind in his time. One of my favorite quotes by him is 'Men may scoff, and men may pray, but they pay every pleasure with a pain.'

When I read this poem for the first time there was a gloomy affect to it; something dark that sits in all lines of this poem, but a darkness that one may find comfort in.

I enjoyed it and I tried to max out all the feelings given in this critical poem. It sets a shadowy overcast yet in its own bleak way it has such a mystic feel to it.

I hope you all enjoy the poem and find the beauty in it as I did.

Invictus by William Ernest Henley

Out of the night that covers me,
Black as the pit from pole to pole,
I thank whatever gods may be
For my unconquerable soul.

In the fell clutch of circumstance
I have not winced nor cried aloud.
Under the bludgeonings of chance
My head is bloody, but unbowed.

Beyond this place of wrath and tears
Looms but the Horror of the shade,
And yet the menace of the years
Finds and shall find me unafraid.

It matters not how strait the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll,
I am the master of my fate,
I am the captain of my soul.

https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/51642/invictus

Sort:  

this is nice joseph.

the poem set the reality, as you did it in your way of life and what path you choose, the journey of life seems are colorful and sometimes black.

but life is a choice.

It matters not how strait the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll,
I am the master of my fate,
I am the captain of my soul.

Hi Passing by and Upvoted you :) !
:
“Wear none of thine own Chains; but keep free, whilst thou art free.” ====> William Penn

Congratulations @joseph! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

The invictus is my favourite it shows a man not trampled upon by fate. Litrle wonder nelson Mandela made it a daily recitation while imprisoned.

wow his poetry is incredible .., full of meaning implied in it, I love this poem. Greetings from me. I also like poetry. hopefully you can also read the poems in my post. thanks. now i follow you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58484.86
ETH 3100.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40