Raw Poetry

in #poetry7 years ago

A poem that was beautifully written, capturing your mind to take that sad journey with the writer.

This poem was written by dark_horizons, and he happens to be a new poet to the deep underground poetry site.

I can't stress enough how much I love the ability to create so much with words. The ability to make you smile, laugh, cry, and simply just feel, amazes me.

A poem by dark_horizons,

The Voices

It was amidst the furor of a terrible dream
The night the voices came
They were sad and sweet, and far away
And they were calling out my name

Then a voice took the form of a beautiful girl
And she brought forth with her a friend
They were the two most wonderful people
And they talked of the coming end

I listened to them for a long, long time
I hoped the day would never come
Like the night was my only savior
And I would be killed by the morning sun

Then the others who had since been silent
Now broke into a sweet refrain
The king and queen slowly faded away
But I knew that I would see them again

Then the choir of voices sang only to me
A song so sweet and pure
It told of a life so painful
And of how death was the only cure

It was then I awoke in an ice cold sweat
As I ran and got a gun
And it took just a minute to load it
As I sang the song they had sung

And I never knew a feeling so good
As I put the gun up to my head
And I exploded into ecstasy
When the bullet struck me dead

And now I am with them, so sad and lonely
As I search for water in Hell
I sing to those who will never know
And I speak, but will never tell

Sort:  

Thank you @joseph for sharing dark_horizons poem with us. It is a hauntingly beautiful piece about the darkness of death. The narrator immediately orients the reader within a dream-state. Each stanza builds anticipation as the narrator becomes captivated by the voices. There is foreshadowing of death before the narrator awakes and ultimately takes his own life.

Personally, I focus primarily on performance poetry, but love checking out written works as well.

It'd be great if you could check out my latest post with a brief 2min performance at a local open-mic. Thanks and I'm looking forward to your next post.

https://steemit.com/story/@mkkenny13/express-yourself

its really a brilliant poem ,beautiful words you have used ,

This is really a deep poem.I think it described a troubled soul and his end brought upon by himself.Really amazing,it takes raw talent to accomplish this.Thanks for sharing

It is a very nice poem even I was expecting a happy ending :( But still beautiful and well said!

Dope! this is some good string of words.

Well @joseph Your choice of words is very deep and awesome.

Some lines are long lasting and will remain forever with me

It told of a life so painful
And of how death was the only cure

Let me share a couplet of Great Urdu Poet Saghir Sadiqui (translated Version)

~ I have lived a very painful life
Still wonder! what was my fault ~

Keep sharing such beautiful words #Joseph

As beautiful as it is haunting. A hundred WOWs for this one.

Such a wonderful poetry, i like this, thanks

Beautiful poetry We can share our thoughts through poetry.

Favorite poet in this community! Brilliant stuff man. You inspired me to write a piece. Keep on doing what you do best ;)Happy Holidayss!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63566.44
ETH 2483.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67