Express Yourself

in #story7 years ago

Throughout college my creative channels were spoken-word poetry and freestyle-rapping. Since graduating, I've found karaoke and open-mic nights as new outlets for creative expression. This video is of a performance during an open-mic night held at C&I Studios in Fort Lauderdale, FL on 12/28/17. C&I Studios holds open-mic nights the last Thursday of every month. This video is NSFW (unless you wear headphones) because there are a few F-bombs.



For the past few months I have been toying with the idea of attending open-mic nights without a planned routine and performing whatever comes to mind. This form of improv is extremely challenging and nerve-wracking. I used to write poems to practice and perform at showcases, however I haven't been able to write for a long time. This is my truest form of expression. I don't know what I'm going to say or do once I get on stage. It is a very genuine and honest performance.

I didn't get my sister any presents for Christmas.
That's pretty f*cked up. What's wrong with me?

  • I spent last Christmas alone in Colorado whereas this year I was surrounded by friends and family back home in South Florida. I wrote postcards for the important people in my life but I didn't buy any presents.

I got so much energy running through me, through me through me.
I've got the spirit running through me, through me, through me.
Dog, shut the f*ck up, I'm trying to speak, speak, speak.

  • A man brought his Doberman Pinscher to the Studio. The dog was aggressively barking at people all night. I wasn't going to let him bark through my performance.

I saw Hamilton on Broadway.
That transformed my life.
I think art might just be my life.

  • A few weeks ago I saw Hamilton on Broadway at the Richard Rodgers Theater in NYC (post coming soon). Seeing this show live got me thinking about pursuing a career in the arts.

This unique blend of spoken-word, improv, and storytelling forces me outside of my comfort zone. These performances bring my muse to life. I'm very happy to share it with you, and I hope it inspires you to do something you're scared of. That's where greatness happens.

Sort:  

I love it !! Original and off the cuff ! I can’t wait to see some more of what ever you bring to the community .. Thanks

Oh man, thank you. Art to me has died, something turned into a souless form. But with a new generation, comes new works. I do appreciate your endeavour, and your work. And I look forward to seeing what is to come. Peace and love.

Awesome performance!

INTERESTING....thanks to follow back@marlyn keney

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59758.56
ETH 2523.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47