Tarnished Heart

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)



heart-1105346_960_720.jpg



It’s hard, Lord, sometimes,
On nights like these—
When you’re so silent
I can hear you breathe


I feel like such a pagan
Compared to church people
In stained glass houses
With lovely steeples

I don’t know why
You bother with me
I don’t bring you joy
Just cause you grief

I’m not even sure why
You saved me
from death…many times,
And yeah, spiritually

I listen to people
Who think they know you
Maybe they do
But somehow I doubt it

Do they stay up with you
Alone at night
Listening to you
While you make them cry?

I didn’t think so.

As for Christmas
I don’t know where to start
I can’t give anything
But a broken heart

So I’m not sure
Where this is leading to
Ten years ago
I thought I knew…

But I was a different man
Back then,
And didn’t know you.





© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo 1
Photo 2

Sort:  

This a beautifully raw, and open wonder you have written, John. It is the kind of honesty I cherish in a friend.

thank you, lydon. You are a friend :)

"Do they stay up with you
Alone at night
Listening to you
While you make them cry?"

Yes, yes they do...

"I can’t give anything
But a broken heart"

That is sufficient:

"The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit;
a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise."

Bless you, friend John.

thank you, my friend :)

There is a kind of hush.....in here. Selah

Okay, don't make me cry, lol

So beautiful. So nostalgic. So wishful.

Just like christmas.

Thank You for sharing.

thank you, @flashfiction, for always having a substantive comment

"Do they stay up with you
Alone at night
Listening to you
While you make them cry?"

Lovely!

I’m not even sure why
You saved me
from death…many times,
And yeah, spiritually

Favourite part!

Beautiful one! Really! Thanks for your kind words

Great dear keep it up.

This post has received a 6.98 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

Beautiful poem :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67275.57
ETH 3480.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67