Scarlett Winter

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)



scarlet-winter-tv.jpg



In darkest December
The radium snow


Sparkles like silver
Where cliffs are exposed

And I am far
From the county road

Wandering alone
In search of my soul


I came to forget you
To get away

From all the familiar
Grief of our days

Perhaps to expel you
Or cast out your ghost

This business of feelings
Comes with great cost


Then suddenly
In my darkest mood

Across my way
A cardinal flew

He lightened the day
Healed a hurtful splinter

With a burst of joy
In the depths of winter



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

I think the cardinal signifies the soul of a loved one gone... Right?

I love that sweet picture! Did the picture inspire the poem? Or you found a picture to match the poem? Which came first? :)

Thanks, the poem first, then the pic - the pic is called Scarlet Winter which I changed to a girl's name, meaning one clothed in scarlet to add another lair of meaning. I expected people to complain it was misspelled but nobody noticed - not sure if that's bad or good - maybe some were being polite, lol

Hahahahaha well now are you teasing me with lair/layer?? Lol

And I saw Scarlett and immediately thought of Scarlett Johannsen! So the misspelling was completely missed... Probably a subconscious slip since I recognized her name!!!! The brain is a funny thing :)

Scarlett, as in Scarlett Johansson? Love her in Lost in Translation. Have you seen that movie?

Haven't seen the movie, but you're the first person to notice the play on the word, 'scarlet' :)

Yay! I better write a movie review soon. If you have time, please check it out. Had many takeaways from that movie shot in Japan. Thanks!

This post has received a 2.05 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

this photo reminds me of my childhood, thanks for that

Wow muy bonitas palabras amigo:')

This post has received a 2.29 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @johnjgeddes

The business of feelings does indeed come with great cost. And again I thank you for inviting me into that space...

Across my way
A cardinal flew

Next to my favorite bird, the blue jay, I think cardinals are the prettiest birds in the snow.

they always surprise me :)

Excellent, how great is poetry when we inspire with words, when we are motivated to create, that energy that radiates the mind projected in writing is incredible.

Thanks for sharing us a poetry that is an eduvative value about all steemians. We can take out a lot of information from your post.I always visit your site & wait for your upcming post.
Thanks #johnjgeddes
@Resteem,upvote & follow has been done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58754.61
ETH 2507.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47