Redemption

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)



copy-of-thistle-grove-rar.jpg



I watched the moonlight
Creep along the wall
In autumn


Then later heard the wind
Thunder in tall maples
Boiling like water
In a cauldron

It was no surprise
When the first black raindrops fell
Splattered like black cherries
Upon the walk

And the moanings and gnashings
As the rain wrestled with the wind
Overturning tables
On the patio

The streets were desolate
And the streetlamps glare
Turned to bars of gold
Across the road

And night turned from fair
To bitter cold
But still no one came there

And a roof’s overhang
Was small shelter against the wind
But I lingered
Determined to the end

Until just past midnight
When all hope was lost
I saw you emerge
From the dark

And cross the road
Into my arms…
Your small gesture
Redeeming
A whole night’s harms.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

That inspires me, we can expect something like that in the future?

Good accompaniment hopefully motivated other readers

Congratulations, your post received 8.33% up vote form @spydo courtesy of @johnjgeddes! I hope, my gratitude will help you getting more visibility.
You can also earn by making delegation. Click here to delegate to @spydo and earn 95% daily reward payout! Follow this link to know more about delegation benefits.

You got a 3.49% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @johnjgeddes!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

I feel so repetitive, but another beautiful piece. Your poetry creations are fast becoming a highlight on my steemit rounds. This time I read it to the family on a drive. I look forward to every entry, you’ll get tired of my gushing eventually! Thank you. (The art was perfect in setting the mood too)

It's like that sometimes. A very intense and romantic write. You captured the spirit of the painting wonderfully:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63678.85
ETH 2623.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85