Phantasms

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)





All the white


Transparent forms

That glide

And gibber

In the dark

Pass down halls

Into oblivion

Like icy gell

From a pond

That melts

Leaving

dark leaves.


And so it is

With the years

And all the white faces

Petals

From a delicate

Bloom

Winds carried

To the furthest

Corners

Where they gather

Like cobwebs

Inside of you.



© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


Photo

Sort:  

This poem has me emotionally conflicted. The words are beautifully placed and danced threw my head. It also made me face my own mortality. Not in a break down kind of way, but calming and understanding it’s natures way.

a very insightful response - yes, I agree, and those who know me would believe it's conflicted :)

I’ve been a song writer/poet for a long time. So I understand when shut off your mind and write your truest self is able to be shown. I’ve let a few people read my work and their surprised that the words on the paper came from me. Thank you for showing us who you are and I can’t wait to see more of your work.

thanks, @zboyd - I appreciate that

I felt like this was existentialism in 24 stanzas. Well written, the mood was conveyed nicely.

A very poetical way of describing the poem - love it! Thanks, @lemniscate

Dr. @johnjgeddes nice poem. i ljke your post and upvoted.

I like you post @@@@@@@@@@@ thanks

Haunting imagery that kindles many different feelings inside as I read. Well done.... :)

I like you post @@@@@@@@@@@ thanks

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Oct 26. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $29.83 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Oct 26 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61397.32
ETH 3382.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48