Other Things

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)





I always wanted the simple life
And now we have it.


Just you and me and a cat and dog
In the country

Well, it’s more a village,
But more than we need

Too big a house and too many things
To feel comfortable

You want the big sky and to live in B.C.
But you and me, that’s how it will be

So when the sun goes down,
And the house gets quiet

I hear the rhythm of you sleeping
Like at the beginning before we had things

When I’d lie and stare in awe
At the beauty of you dreaming...

I only wanted that and now I have it—
Well that, and a bunch of other things.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

Hi John,
I adore everything about this poem; I love the title, although in the beginning I couldn't see how you were going to tie it in, but of course you did...spectaculary;) And the photo you chose is spot on.

Why is it I wonder, that throughout life, we accumulate, "Too big a house and too many things
To feel comfortable"?

It's all so unnecessary. As I age, and perhaps Brian's 'condition' adds to this, I fully understand how less is more; by coming to Mexico and getting rid of everything, we've found simplicity again...and each other.

"Well that, and a bunch of other things." Love this last line!

Another keeper sir! Thank you and Cheers:)

Thanks, Lynn - It's so true - I used to be a real pack rat always keeping old things we replaced, just in case - even the boxes they came in - Okay, I still do that, but I'm getting better, lol. One day when Deb was giving something away to one of our kids she said, "It's just stuff." Of course it is, but it takes a lifetime to realize that. She's quicker on the uptake than me, but everyone wants to go back to the simplicity of their beginnings, and we can all do that - as you say, find simplicity and each other :)

hahaha of course it's just stuff, but it's my stuff !! And we women often are a little 'quicker on the uptake' , just ask your wife, I'm sure she'll concur :)

I meant to ask, does Deb really want to go to BC? Is that where she is from originally? Hope that's not too nosy; just curious. Brian and I are both from Ontario, but spent our adult lives in BC. Nostalgia makes us think of moving back 'home', but the winters there keep us realistic :)

my youngest son lives there and just had a baby, but our other two children are here and we have grand kids here as well. Deb loves the mountains and nature - well, she's a countrygirl and spent her childhood each summer up north so it's a natural, but where we are is beautiful too - we have the Bruce Trail and waterfalls enough for a million photos, lol.

Ahhh torn by the babies! My mother always gives me heck for moving so far away:)

Don't tell me you're near Ball's Falls/St. Catherines are you?

Deb knows it - but we're Waterdown - literally hundreds of waterfalls :)

Hence the name :)

This one speaks to me on so many levels...I may just explode. Wonderful poem. I love the complexity you’ve packed into its simple structure. The density into its bareness. Masterfully done.

thanks, @outrayjust - appreciate the thoughtful response :)

Your love for your wife just sort of drips from this one. :) In much the same way you took me into melancholy in a previous poem, you brought me to laugh with that happy contentment of a life lived in loving relationship with someone incredible. You have a gift for words.

I tend to work with spoken word and the works I'm creating are some attempt to try to bring the delivery of a spoken word to something that can live on a page. I feel like each time I read one of your works, I really ought to be taking better notes so that perhaps someday the "craft" of writing I have cultivated might better resemble what I encounter in yours.

Thanks John! (by the way, if you ever have chance to take a look and have anything you might want to offer as critique or suggestion to improve, I would listen... oh yes I would most definitely listen... I'd be a fool not to.)

I think the reason why psalms and proverbs touch me so deeply is the fact that they are from the heart - anything from the heart is profound and ultimately beautiful - anything else is just technique, IMHO

I've always thought of particularly the psalms as "earthy" and in so doing I too agree there is tremendous beauty there. Your poetry I'm finding connects to that same sense of "earthy" for me. It's weighty, it's real... it lives here among us and invites us to live as well. thanks again.
take care
~E

We had an enclosure outside that held our "stuff"... Nothing that we needed, but everything that we held onto.

I wanted to go through it and get rid of so much!! But... What if I still needed it? Where do I start? Maybe I'll do it later...

Fire came through our area and with smoke damage and water damage... We tossed everything

I never realized how freeing that would feel until it happened!!!!

Love the picture and the poem! Great match :)

thanks, @dreemsteem - so true, and things have a way of tying us down - even the problem of what to donate and to whom etc. when all we really have is each other

"Too big a house and too many things
To feel comfortable

You want the big sky and to live in B.C.
But you and me, that’s how it will be"

I love the simplicity of the language.

Whao this is wonderful. Life of a simple man

the simple life ....

great words. very true. I wrote a poem today to lynn again, if you could let me know toyr true take on it. would be forever thankful

thanks, Brian. Yes, I will :)

This post has received a 2.01 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @johnjgeddes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61227.60
ETH 3022.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88