Night Thoughts

in #poetry6 years ago



night_abstract_landscape_rainy_lights_painting_art_by_debra_hurd.jpg



Rain is falling out there—


You are sleeping
While the trees
Slowly turn to glass.

Sometimes I feel
There is no difference
awake or asleep—

The seasons turn
And the human passions
Are but a slight disturbance.

There is rain falling out there;

There will always be rain...

On the trees, on the houses,

Even on this window

After we are gone.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

Ayer te hablaba de la lluvia, @johnjgddes, de esa lluvia extraña en abril, de como lo anega todo, pero también lo limpia. Somos seres de lluvia, de agua. La lluvia tiene la capacidad de cambiarnos el ánimo, volvernos más melancólicos y sensible. Creo que toda despedida trae una lluvia consigo, pero no de afuera sino de adentro, y sale por los ojos que son las ventanas del alma. Excelente poema para cerrar este viernes que se va lento. Feliz noche, mi estimado.

Creo que toda la despedida trae una lluvia consigo ... una línea hermosa, mi amigo, tan conmovedora y poética

Conmovedora y poética como tus palabras, como lo que escribes, mi estimado. Honrada de leerte todos los días.

Reminds me of the Psalm:

“What is man that You take thought of him, And the son of man that You care for him?”
‭‭Psalms‬ ‭8:4‬ ‭

Yes, God's loving providence. Thanks, lydon:)

as usual veru beautiful writing, I am way behind on your book lol. Been in a bad way hese last weeks. I wrote a poem again. I hope you like

Will read it, Brian - was thinking about you today, my friend

Great homage to that painting. Superb:)

thanks, Pryde :)

The sleep that eluded me for so long
Has come back to meet me at twilight
Rain turned into drizzle and then it was gone
When I yearned for more water
My mind gave me no quarter
As my wakefulness fades away
Sleep lulls me into its gentle sway

Congratulations, your post received 5.58% up vote form @spydo courtesy of @johnjgeddes! I hope, my gratitude will help you getting more visibility.
You can also earn by making delegation. Click here to delegate to @spydo and earn 95% daily reward payout! Follow this link to know more about delegation benefits.

Beautiful sadness I sense somehow in the distance between the words of this vague, simple poem. It made me cry and I don’t know why. 🧐 Thanks for evoking... whatever this is.

Once again, great poem! Could you do me a favor, could you briefly tell me what 'Her Thirties' is about? I'm tempted to start reading it but I know I have a lot to catch up on. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67701.44
ETH 3730.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69