Laying the Matter to Rest

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)



painting-bar-paintings-el-gaucho.jpg



We’ll never walk and talk again
As we used to do


Deep in thought the two of us
Spinoza and Camus

We won’t sit at night
In piano bars

Vainly seeking
What we no longer are

No, that chapter’s closed
And you’ve become a ghost.

You told me once
You’d lie awake
Afraid of steps on the stair

And you’d get up and check
With flashlight and knife
To find nobody there.

Are you frightened still
In your shadowy world
Of spirits that haunt the night?

Or have you become
One of them
And flee at dawn’s first light?

I wish you well
In that other realm
May no horrors trouble your sight

But I’d rather not visit with you
When you creak the stair tonight.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

I like how there's some calm acceptance in his words and wishes. The grieving is over and he's actually letting "the matter to rest" Loved the title, by the way!

Also it reminded me of a quote from The book thief where the Death itself says "I am haunted by humans". Ah! Aren't we sometimes haunted from people who are definitely breathing? There are many ghosts surronding our lives all the time.

Sorry if I babble too much in all your posts hahah but I'm yet to find a poem from you that doesn't let me in deep thinking.

this is an excellent response, @hayleeng - and yes, I've written about being haunted by the living

Wow ... very nice poetry tho a little bit scary... I like how the image relates to the words of the poem "we won't sit at nights in piano bars ,vainly seeking what we no longer are" this part made me a little bit sad for them.... please keep up the good work, what is the theme of the poem? and what inspired this ?

the dead continue to live in our thoughts and we interact with them in dreams as if they were still alive, but the chapter's closed. It would be unwise to pursue the memories further. What inspired it? Several close friends recently died.

So sorry about that ... may their soul rest in perfect peace

Vainly seeking
What we no longer are

Those are words to chew on. It can take so long to realize the past is past.

it does. I'm still struggling with that, lydon

Everyone Seems to Have God’s Blessings But You are Blessed with Stunning Skill of Poem Writing.

Help poor me @jjgeddes. What separated them ? It seems one has departed for the world beyond ( death took her). I wanna be sure if I understood the poetry. Beautiful crafted I must say.

you're correct - a relationship with one partner deceased

I'm not very cultured 😣 and can't grasp complex works with deep meanings. This poem is simple enough for me yet provides enough room for thoughts. Thanks

This much is true...

Yes, I was wondering if you prefer poetry or fiction? I've seen your replies a few times and I was just curious

perfect, it's a good poem

It's great dear , I love this poetry and great Job
Thanks for sharing .If you don't mind please check my recent post I hope you enjoy it.

Namaste

Over all that's the great post ..
I realize it is so valuable post .
Best of luck ..Carry on your own way..👍👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62886.34
ETH 2448.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64