I Want to Live and Die in Your Arms

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)





I want to live and die
In your arms
But it’s a dream for me…


Because I’m not in your arms now
And it grieves me.

I want to share your life
And love
And your loneliness,

The side you hide
From other men,
Yet, I know exists.

I want to bury my face in your hair
Inhale
Snow on the wind,

But the longer we stay apart
I don’t know where to begin.

The moon grieves for lovers apart
Every night it peers in,

But I cannot explain my heart
Or the prison I’m in.

I want to bury my face in your hair
Inhale your mystery

But I fear we’ll die apart
With no history.

I want to live and die
In your arms
But it’s a dream for me…

Because I’m not in your arms now,

And it grieves me.



© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


Photo

Sort:  

This is not a poem born at the time of loss; it comes later.
It is not the sharp pain of loss, but the endless ache of memories and pain at the emptiness of your future and at all the might-have-beens

Thanks John.

yes, you are right, my friend - couldn't have said it better :)

Beautiful poem @johnjgeddes. There is so much tactile references in this that I find myself smelling the hair and feeling the touches. You have really pulled me into this situation :)
Great work once again John :)

Thanks so much, Bucky - I know you have great artistic awareness - appreciate this

Beautiful !! <3

Nice. I don't typically dig the repeated verses, but it worked well within this poem. I especially liked this line:

I want to bury my face in your hair
Inhale your mystery

Thanks for sharing this.

you're welcome. I didn't like repetition for the longest time, but it can form a cadence if it's simply not xerox reprising of lines.

An aching sense of loss ( or never was!)

Kind of reminds me of the poem, But You Didn't:

https://www.familyfriendpoems.com/poem/but-you-didnt-by-merrill-glass

Hey @johnjgeddess are you on steemit chat or discord?

That's very perceptive - I don't know Merrill Glass but you're right, the same cadence, the same structure, the same use of a repeated line. Maybe it's the basic musical principles of language that we're both drawing upon. Thank you, for such a thoughtful comment,

Re: being on these channels, I really am swamped at the moment but if I find some time I will check them out. I really appreciate your response

This post received a 4.66% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @johnjgeddes! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

This post has received a 20.87 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

Before 20, advanced for a hug by 30, next to you on a sofa by 40 and leave me alone by 50. Good bye by 60

seems so true :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63850.79
ETH 3415.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46