But

in #poetry4 years ago



Painting man guitar coffee.jpg



I have nothing
Of yours
Anymore,


No letters
Tickets
Or cards;

But I do have scars...

Memories
That spill out

Like photos
From a billfold
Not intended
To keep them

And are so damn
Inconvenient,

These Snapshots
Of what we were.


I want to be
Like you
And toss them
On the fire

If I had
What's required

But don't--

And yes,
It's not fair

What you
Remember
Afterwards,

When the struggle's through

And Fate has dealt
All the cards;

I’d like to forget that too...

But I still have scars.



© 2020, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

My God... This is pure art, congratulations on your talent

Thank you for your encouragement, @masigonza

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 56948.01
ETH 3056.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40