Face in a Crowd

in #poetry6 years ago



800px-Loneliness_in_a_Crowd.jpg



The other night
I saw the half-face
Of the Moon
And thought of you…


Your lovely profile
Haunts
My dreams,


A cameo of
Everything
I want and need;


but in my dream
It was the denouement
Following a tragedy—


I glimpsed your lovely face
As you were swallowed
By the crowded street


Your glance
Averted,


Forever turned away from me.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

There are some chasing looks, some faces, some smells, some voices, @johnjgeddes. Like marks that we carry on our skin, they are traces of memory that speak to you. Among all the faces, one that is like a light in the dark. But in this case that face does not come to stay but is the image that blurs in the night, that is lost, that leaves you the feeling of emptiness and orphanhood. Nice night for you.

Sometimes life is as Shakespeare says, love's labour lost - we wonder if that face in the crowd was real or a trick of memory - either way, we're haunted

As I don't make the rounds often enough, sadly I'm here with very weak Steem power...

Nonetheless, my support for your work is constant, John, my friend.

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thanks, Creatr - we're all in the same boat right now, but last time this happened we had a bumper November to January period when I made more in two months than 2 yrs on the site - let's hope that happens so I can stop powering down

That would be nice!

Hope you're doing well.

Have you seen WEKU?

I don't know where it may go, but many good Steemians are checking it out. Wouldn't hurt to put some of your work there, I think... ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

I heard it's a scam - I reserve the right to be wrong - it involved fees for recruiting people to the site - but yeah, I registered, have password and am waiting...lol

I'm on the verge of publishing an important post there, pointing out what I think is an amazing opportunity... Check my blog there later today?

😄😇😄

@creatr

saw a number of your posts on weku - I have no idea if I can post on there or vote ( I do have a password) but I have no idea what to do or if I should even get involved. I know some whales have gamed that site and siphoned off money. I'll probably be a late adopter, if I ever opt for it at all

I looked for your account there, and could not find it...

Did you complete the registration process?

Yes, I have seen evidence of "gaming" there that is disturbing, but I imagine the same thing probably happened here at the beginning.

I don't have a lot of "energy" to expend there, but I'm curious enough to fiddle around a little bit. ;)

yeah, I'm there, not under my name - maybe I'll post a few things anon and see what happens - I do that now and then just to see if it's me or the writing - I'm prone to suspicion and I distrust any site until it proves itself - hell, I had to endure the same fate on steemit, twitter, etc. I have a feeling Steemit will bounce back as the weather gets crisp, lol

will do - I keep an open mind - hopefully others in politics do so too today :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94