empty of tears

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)





your unfinished poem


lies

alone

on my desk...


empty of tears.


I only hope

it rains today.


© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


https://goo.gl/images/DzXoLV

Sort:  

Heartbreakingly beautiful...

thank you, Dale :)

This is so beautiful and minimalist. I love it!

Very moving... perfectly penned :)

Sweet tears of rain to fill the page again. Beautiful, John.

thanks, lydon - wasn't sure if people on here would appreciate this style...it's micro-poetry

Not familiar with micro-poetry. However, if you write it, we'll read it. :)

a work of art can be perfect whatever its dimensions

I like your post. Beautiful @johnjgeddes

Upvoted and RESTEEMED

@bukharisulaiman

John, you're stirring shrouded memories... I have unwritten poems that need finishing. Thanks for this beautiful reminder. :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

Oh, memory...so fallible. No wonder you want to archive everything :)

What a gift ,to be able to produce this quality, with 17 Words!

thanks, @awgbibb - it took me 40 yrs to write like that, and I'm only 39 :)

So, from the Womb, then?

I'm Irish ...yeah. Mad Ireland drove me into poetry

This is so deep that I couldn't understand :p . I thought I write such deep stuff that it would be tough for people to understand it. But when I don't understand something written by others, I try using all my logics but still fail. Giving up on this one, kindly enlighten me. I am curious to know what it means.

thanks for responding, @himshweta.

This kind of poetry is like an impressionistic painting. If you are used to viewing representational paintings that look like photographs, you'll be confused, because some details are left out. You'll say, 'this doesn't tell me a full story-- what does it mean?'

The proper question is, How does it mean? When you read it, how does it make you feel?

Do you imagine a man in such despair he can't even finish his love poem, and can't even cry because he has no tears left?

If that's what you felt, then you know what it means. You felt what I felt and I did my job :)

Damn. It will take me time to understand such poetries and more time to make such. But I will keep on learning. Thank you for informing. I couldn't have understood it on my own :p . Looking forward for more poetries to think upon. Kindly go through mine as well. It's not as deep as yours. But its quite heavy. Would make my day if I get a feedback from you. Here it is :- https://steemit.com/awakening/@himshweta/4-3-the-enigma-of-every-human-being-original-poetry

Just came across you today and love your writing!

The painting drew me in to this post, though. Can you tell us more about it? It seems even more powerful as I live in a semi arid climate.

thanks @protegeaa - if you read the responses you will see I explained the poem - I'd just be repeating myself :)

Sorry, to clarify: what is that painting? Who painted it? I couldn't find that answer in the comments.

oh, that's just a stock photo - click on the blue link at the bottom of the page

Thanks, will have to investigate further!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62710.59
ETH 3048.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77