December Garden

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

pexels-photo-371638.jpeg



December's wintery breath is already clouding the pond,
frosting the pane, obscuring summer's memory
.



Snowflakes
Gently
Float down


The afternoon
Brightens now

Lights
Come on
The slow moving
Carousel

Bare armed
Forsythia
Lift
bronzed
Limbs

And pirouette
Like ballerinas
In the wind

But the pine
Demures,
Strikes
A regal pose

Maintaining
A dignity
Of its own

Mute
Half barrels
Fill
With snow
And Bear first fruits
Of wintry cold

And I
By the window
Watch my tiny world
As nature puts
To sleep
Shrubs
And flowers

Tucks them in
From the arctic cold
Beneath a blanket
Of fluffy white snow



© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo

Sort:  

everything is being tucked away softly blanketed by the snow while you stand warm and protected behind your window....very nice

“I wonder if the snow loves the trees and fields, that it kisses them so gently? And then it covers them up snug, you know, with a white quilt; and perhaps it says, "Go to sleep, darlings, till the summer comes again.”
― Lewis Carroll, Alice's Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass

I generally dislike winter and only like to look at photos to remind me of what I am not missing...but your poems almost make me want to take a walk in the fluffy white stuff. Shame on you John! lol

I saw your comment about Dundurn Castle - so, you are used to this weather, or were used to it at one time :)

Yes! I lived in the snow belt north of London Ontario for most of my life. The last 17 years we have lived in Central America on the Pacific Ocean.

well, that is some change!

Favorite part is the regal pose part. Love winter. Love the fresh air. Love Christmas. Love how things can slow down for this special time of each year.

yes, things become quiet and silent

Short and spiky verses this is really awesome your lines are well dotted with richness your rhymes are awesome too

thanks Jose - the shorter lines can produce a more mediative state - that seems paradoxical to some but it's like using shorter, one or two syllable words, to slow down the pace

Beautiful. This almost makes me hope for snow this winter.

you must be in a warmer latitude or basically a summer person :)

Definitely not a summer person :) I'm in Seattle but I moved from where both winters and summers are brutal.

I like that it has made me travel, what subtlety. For me, it has been perfect.

I would like you to be able to read mine.
https://steemit.com/poem/@gabinart3/spaces

i liked this post because it s a great poetry

you always say this my friend -you need to find some specific thing in the poem to comment upon

I agree with you to be your friend

This post has received a 14.11 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

very cold desember

yes, read my comment above

Maintaining
A dignity
Of its own

And they do. I just hope we could all mantain a diginity of our own on winter, too.

A great reading. Thank you very much for sharing it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60752.39
ETH 2904.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73