Chalk Dreams

in #poetry6 years ago



160229_r27716.jpg



who knows if the moon's
a balloon, coming out of a keen city
in the sky―filled with pretty people?

― E.E. Cummings



April was coming
With its haze of buds,
Blurry rain, pussy willows
And gray storm clouds.


April was coming
And I was in love.

Each night I took
The canoe of the Moon
And voyaged to see you—

I’d ride the surf
Of cloudy waves
To your house.

I knew somewhere
In the jumble of lights
Was the golden tile
Of your window

And I lived
For that moment
Of sweet surprise
When you stood on tiptoe

And reached up at last
To grasp my hand
And join me
In that magical boat

As we sailed away to Key Largo…

Or so it seemed
In my lucid dream
Of you and me
On a phosphorescent sea.

April was coming
But never arrived,
I saw the dream
Die in your eyes.

Yes, I was foolish
Wildly improbable
Vainly trying to accomplish
The impossible

Still I make no apology
About stirring the depths—
Men long to swim underwater
And see what lurks beneath

Or sail through the sky
Impossibly high
If only in dreams…

But when nights are mild
With stars scattered about
And the Moon at its cusp,

I love it
When the dark bottle
Of night spills out
And the Moon
Writes in chalk
About the two of us.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

Qué hermosas imágenes nos traes hoy, mi muy estimado @johnjgeddes. Esa última estrofa es de una delicadeza de luz. Dicen por ahí que las personas a veces podemos encontrarnos en un sueño! Coincidir en ese espacio mágico que creamos par el otro y en donde podemos permitirnos cambiar el tiempo. Soñar puede ser un bonito sinónimo para decir te extraño. Abril jamás llego y julio se fue volando! Bonita noche para ti.

Tan cierto, Nancy - la primavera y el verano pueden eludirnos fácilmente - tenemos que hacer espacio para ellos en nuestro corazón

I love it
When the dark bottle
Of night spills out
And the Moon
Writes in chalk
About the two of us

That was a real treat to read and experience. Thank you, John. Excellent word-smithing and expression. The best in poetry. Bravo:):):) Reesteemed:):):)

Thank you, Pryde!

Wow. About halfway through I felt I had entered a lucid dream. Wonderful.

you understand art - not many would have grasped the relationship of form to content. Insightful comment.

This is the best I have read this morning. Nice one. I'm new here. I'll appreciate your friendship. Visit my blog too to get inspired as well as reading real-time flash fictions.

Absolutely beautiful!

John, you got to me with this one. My imagination carries me away constantly, through the skies, to the moon and far, far beyond in the company of my love.

Here's something I've been dreaming of lately that might entertain you a tad:

I want this. Really, really badly... ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57028.16
ETH 2358.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40