About these poems

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)





Rain drops bead


Upon the lines,

And small birds

Shelter under eaves;


I read you my verses

From far away,

Soft and warm

And moist with sleep.



© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


Photo

Sort:  

There were some interesting metaphors in here. I like the idea of "moist with sleep". I relate it to how I am sometimes late at night when perusing through the poetry here on steemit. I do sometimes feel saturated with weariness, yet compelled to interpret the meaning of the words to me. Thanks for sharing.

thank you, @moeknows for your thoughtful response. I think poetry exists on the very verge of dreams and seems as brooding as birds sheltering from the rain when all the world is wrapped in mist and far away

Congratulations @johnjgeddes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post has received a 4.73 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

Nice post I like how the number of syllables in each line gives it rhythm and makes it feel like a song. I guess that is what makes a good poet, when it becomes about more than just having the last word rhyme. And then the metaphors and stuff also obviously play a big role.

thanks, @pjcswart - it's like any other art I suppose - there's a certain technical aspect to it but ultimately you're trying to touch your reader

Makes sense I guess. Thanks for connecting on here. I hope you have a WONDERFUL day!! 😝 😛

You're really an awesome writer @johnjgeddes. You never fail to amaze me with your works. This poem is really nice, I like it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60826.65
ETH 2907.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54